Miss Bettie's Zesty Grilled Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
This was good but I guess I had higher expectations. I think the mustard overpowered the side dish...and I would have rather tasted the corn. Might try again to tinker with....but still good. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
This recipe helped keep the corn moist but I didn't really taste much of it on my ear. I will probably make it again to see if I just need to put more on each ear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Ward Sheehan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
I didn't use this with corn on the cob, instead making it a sauce to stir into frozen corn. Maybe grilling it would have imparted better flavor...it just tasted like corn and mustard. Don't think I'll retry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
Be sure to apply the sauce liberally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
The corn burned on one side and I didn't think the flavors melded together all that well. Not gross, but probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
I have been wanting to make this for some time and was not disappointed. I do think the name should be changed because instead of zestiness, you just get a nice blend of flavors. It is not overwhelming and that is a good thing. Decreased the mustard just a tad because I do not like a lot of yellow mustard in a recipe but everything else was the same. Cooked beautifully on the grill; make sure that you don't have any tears or holes in the foil -- all the sauce will run out and you will end up with dry, tough corn. After cooking, I cut the kernels off the cob. They got into the Mexican rice side dish and it was delicious that way as well. This was a great recipe and will make it many, many more times. Paired this with the adobo sirloin recipe from this site, the rice and warm flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
This wasn't as "zesty" as it was cooked on the corn, BUT if you put it on the corn after grilling, it has the zing. I dipped my ham in the left over butter sauce and it was delicious! I will make this mixture with ham from now on!! Thanks Teresa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
I thought this recipe was just O.K. I was really expecting more flavor with the interesting mix of ingredients, but overall was a little bland. You could taste the mustard, which I thought was pretty weird with the corn. Being wrapped in the foil, it didn't have a grilled flavor. Might be better brushed with the mixture and placed directly on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
This is an excellent way to make corn on the cob! The seasonings add a very subtle flavor. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Very nice and different. I added just a little ground red pepper for more of a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

Grilled Bacon-Wrapped Corn on the Cob

Corn and bacon are grilled together in this perfect summer dish.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States