Miss Beth's Yoghurt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
My favourite ,,i substitute oats to some of the flour and brown sugar to some whitd sugar ,add raisons,orange zest and more spices ..its really Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This is amazing! I used a full 6 oz of blueberry yogurt & added 1 tsp vanilla & 1/2 tsp baking soda (in addition to the yeast). I also added 2Tbl lemon juice. I whisked VERY WELL before pouring into 8x8 pan. Baked 35 min. I glazed with the "Lemon Glazed Date Stick" glaze recipe. My kids & I devoured it. I will make again for breakfast & any time I can make up an excuse to :)! Thank u for this scrumptious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Yum, this was so good. We needed to use up a bunch of yogurt and this did the trick. I found it to be addicting so I can't make it too often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Quick and easy - this cake made a delicious and satisfying late-night study snack. The ingredients were simple and there's plenty of room for interpretation. I left off the sugar on top, but added some jam! These would be nice as muffins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Judging from the recipe as written, it would have been very bland, thus 3 stars. I added cinnamon, vanilla and ground cloves, as well as replaced 1/2 the sugar with packed brown sugar, as another reviewer suggested. I will say that the yeast in this recipe, IMO, serves no purpose because a yeast needs time to activate. The next time I make this, I will replace the yeast with 1/2 t. baking soda that will react with the yogurt to create pockets of air and give this recipe it's cakey-ness. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loisln77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Such a great recipe! As a previous reviewer posted - so easy to modify and play with :) The modifications I made were as follows - 1) I used homemade yogurt, which has the consistency of Greek yogurt 2) Instead of the 1 C of white sugar, I used 1/2 C white sugar and 1/2 C brown sugar 3) I substituted apple sauce for the vegetable oil 4) just as a note - 0.25 oz yeast = 2.5 tsp yeast, which I used. 5) For additional spice, I added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp allspice, and 1/8 tsp cloves. For aesthetic appeal, I spiraled honey over the batter (which is quite thick so the honey doesn't sink in or anything), and the finished product had a pretty top :) Lots of changes, but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I altered the recipe slightly, as well. I used 2 eggs instead of 3, added a little vanilla, used 1/2 tsp of baking powder instead of yeast and split the 1/2 cup vegetable into 1/4 cup olive oil and 1/4 cup margarine. I also added the zest of a lemon, and it turned out a wonderfully light lemony dream. To make it into more of a dessert I made a lemon glaze by heating a tablespoon of margarine, a tsp of vanilla and the juice of the lemon I zested over low heat. Then I dumped in a bunch of confectioner's sugar until I got the consistency I wanted. I can't wait to try other versions of this recipe! Maybe next time I'll add dried cranberries or cherries and almond slivers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwinS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennebunk, Maine, USA
Living In: Danvers, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
LOVED the simplicity of it for breakfast. Very good. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
My husband and I thought this cake was very nice. Mine came out heavy. Maybe next time I'd sift the flour instead of using it right from the container. I used 1/3 cup dark brown sugar and 2/3 cup white sugar plus 2 tsp cinnamon. It was good with a glass of cold milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chua
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Added more yoghurt than what was called for after tasting the batter as it didn't seem to have much taste. The cake comes out dense, not your average cake with crumbs, more like.. chunks. I added cinnamon and raisins and I thought it tasted okay but it didn't have a distict flavour so I'd say go with the flavored yoghurt or add fruit preserves or definitely eat it with something like ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States