Miso Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
as new vegans we have miso soup at least 4x a week. i omit the dashi though. for variety we also will add spinach right before serving. or boil kale in the miso b4 adding the tofu. recently we started adding cooked rice or udon noodles to make it a heart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimi Sturgess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Followed the recipe to a T. Real easy to make. However my husband thought it was "too rich" and "fishy". I have to agree with him. Maybe too much dashi. Plus our house smelled like dashi broth for a while. Miso soup in our favorite sushi restaurant is so light and delicious. I think we'll stick to that. Some things are meant to be eaten outside of your home...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
my bf would eat this every day! i have tried it with and without tofu, and recently i have been adding dumplings. sooo good! you can really get creative here, but the base all by itself is awesome! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
A hit with everyone I had served it to. Perfect proportions. Often times, even better than at the Japanese restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I grew up eating miso soup made various ways. This is a good basic miso soup. I always use Shiro Miso, which is a white miso (less salty) than the Aka Miso, red miso paste. Some people also like to mix both for more bolder flavor. To whisk in the miso paste, I normally hold two spoons, with the miso paste in the first spoon and using the other spoon to mash the paste into the water. The dashi I use has no MSG and since I was only serving two people I scaled this amonunt down quite a bit. I don't use silken tofu but medium firm which is a personal choice. I garnished the soup with thinly minced green onions (see my picture). Miso soup doesn't take me too long to make. There are so many vegetables you can add in miso soup such as shiitake mushroom, daikon, other mushrooms, leafy greens, etc. This was a warm and satisfying soup that paired perfectly with, "Japanese Deep Fried Shrimp," "Japanese Shrimp Sauce I," "Japanese-Style Sesame Green Beans,"and "Cucumber Sunomono," all from this website. I drank every last drop of miso soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
So delicious and easy! The first time I made this, I couldn't find dashi anywhere so I subbed in chicken stock. The soup came out good, but I was finally able to find dashi granules at the Asian market, and it made ALL the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
For both taste and easy preparation, this gets 5 stars! I like my broth a little stronger, so I added a couple of extra tablespoons of the yellow miso in mine. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Great base - I didn't have dashi so I used vegetable bouillon and the ratios were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I'm eating it right now . . . YUM! Tastes just like what I eat in sushi restaurants and from start to finish it was about 5 minutes!! I used shiro paste (cuz that's what I had on hand) and no tofu (I didn't have any). I used a tablespoon of the dashi seasoning, which gave it a very strong flavour (which I love, but may sketch others out . . . ). We added cilantro (because I feel it goes great in everything :P). SO going to make this again - thanks for a great and very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Kershaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Awesome recipe. Tastes just like from a restaurant, and super easy to make. My husband asked for it for breakfast today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States