Miso Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I made this soup for myself and it was delicious! Just as good if not better than any miso soup you can get at a restaurant. I added cut up portobello mushrooms for a little more to chew on, and it was good that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
i boiled dried seaweed (for wrapping sushi rolls) and dried shredded squid (in lieu of the bonito) instead of using dashi granules, which i equated in my mind to powder bouillon which is pure salt and artificial ingredients. i also took the cue from other reviewers that recommended firm tofu instead of silken. this soup was great! just like the sushi restaurants here in okinawa :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I think when I added the Miso Paste I added too much because my husband said it turned out really strong, so I ended up adding a fifth cup of water to it and he absolutely loved this recipe. He's been deployed to Korea and says it's just like from there. We only used Firm Tofu (Silken) and green onions. The dashi took me a while to find at my local Asian Market because it was called Hondashi (Bonito Soup Stock). Just in case anyone else runs across the same problem. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
You can use yellow, white, or red miso paste for the soup, depending on your preference. You will also need dashi, which is made of dried kelp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grpa
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and loved how it turned out! One small tip - make sure you don't boil the miso, as it will kill the aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Okay, as is, the recipe is fine and tasted just like the soup served in our favorite Japanese restaurants. However, I'm really disappointed, because the first two ingredients in Hondashi granules are salt and MSG! I hate to think I've been eating MSG every time I have miso soup at my favorite restaurant, but it would appear that is the case. I didn't see any other brand at my local Lion market, so what else could they be using? Hopefully it's Bonito dried fish flakes to make their own. We tried that the first time and used tons of flakes, and it turned out to be way too fishy. I am definitely making this soup again, but without the Hondashi granules. I will cut back on the dried fish flakes to make my dashi and see if that makes the soup less fishy. Otherwise, I won't be eating it anymore at all, at home or at the restaurants. Also I agree with the reviewer who said their silken tofu was too soft. Use a fairly firm tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Great base. Simple soup and this gives you the portions to tweak to your particular taste. Try boiling dried sardines to make your broth, or adding mushrooms and dried seaweed. I add the miso paste at the end--apparently you destroy some of the "healthy" components of the miso paste if you cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Guerra
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. When made exactly as written (using the mild yellow or white miso paste), it tastes just like the miso soup you get in Japanese restaurants. I consider this to be a base recipe. You can make it more interesting by putting other things in it. In mine, I put seaweed (not nori, but the chopped, shriveled up kind that expands to small, thin, square pieces in the soup -- I can't give you the exact name because the entire package is in Japanese) and udon noodles. In addition to tasking great, it is also very quick and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I was basically taught this same recipe by my Japanese roommate about 20 years ago but another thing she added was a beated egg. Beat an egg and then pour it in boiling soup gradually while stirring soup with a fork. That is what makes the soup in the restaurants look cloudy white when stirred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
The recipe is fairly basic, however, the amount of tofu called for is too much. I've had to double the recipe to make the amount less overwhelming. As well, I'd recommend more green onion, and the addition of seaweed! That's what really makes miso soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States