Miso Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
A great base recipe, the dashi really helps the flavor. They have vegetarian versions of dashi too! I loaded the soup with fresh mushrooms and a little broccoli too to make it a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Made this recipe last night and it came out delicious! All the ingredients are just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Awesome recipe! The dashi makes all the difference. I added thinly sliced mushrooms and even my husband's grandfather loved it. I like to add seaweed myself. Loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melangle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This tasted EXACTLY like our favorite Sushi restaurant's. I went to an Asian market and the manager told me to boil the dashi and water then reduce to barely simmering and add the miso then serve. She said to never boil the miso. She also said it’s OK to freeze the miso. It comes in a huge container. Very inexpensive and yummy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prttimecook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Amazing! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Delicious. I used white miso paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I have to say 1st hand---I had never eated tofu before this recipe. I was soo worried about eating it, I cubed it into totally small dime size pieces. And it really wasn't bad at all. I also never used dashi granules or miso paste either. This was relatively easy and simple. The flavor was mild and nothing I've ever eaten before. I was very nervous about the miso paste as well because there was a couple of different types with HEAT. So I got the mildest I think the store sold. I'm totally impressed with this and I will make enough for my kids to try as well.I did put some dried kelp in this but it sank to the bottom of the dish and I couldn't get a clear photo of it. I loved kelp and I only put in a few pieces. I think it added to the flavor a little bit. But I'm so going to make this again and try tofu in other ways. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This was so great and easy to make. It took me a second though to find some of the items but got home and bam done! loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I have a Japanese neighbor and she stated that you cannot just wisk in the miso, you need to put the miso in a very fine strainer, put the strainer half way in the water and press miso thru with a spoon. Miso has some left over bits and pieces that for some reason does not ever melt. This is supposed to be disposed of. The second time I did as my neighbor stated and it turned out better. She also gave me some bamboo roots to put in it. I also added tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
easy and delicious. my husband LOVES it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States