Miso Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Really very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Cranmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I prefer using the dried wakame seaweed in mine and some scallions. You can find the seaweed in an asian supermarket, a normal sized bag lasts a long time, since it's dried and it expands. (be careful not to use too much)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Homemade is the best! It took effort to find the dashi granules but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
My kids love miso soup. Thanks for this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This recipe was great, tasted just like the miso soup you get in any good Japanese restaurant. I couldn't find dashi at my Asian grocer so I substituted a cube of fish stock and a sheet out dried seaweed used to make sushi rolls broken into smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Restaurant flavor and stupidly easy. What's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Just like you'd get in a Japanese restaurant! I had to go to the Asian market to get the dashi granules (important, don't omit!) and miso paste. I used Marikome brand All Natural Miso. This miso is known as Awase which is between a white and a red paste on the miso scale. The only change I made was to use a firm tofu, as recommended by other reviewers. I think using firm is necessary. I thinly slice a sheet of seaweed and added that into the pot just before serving. I also added a couple thinly sliced mushrooms as a garnish. Thanks for the great recipe! So simple! Who knew!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
we love this. easy and quick and super delicious. only thing we added was a sprinkle of black and white sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
The only miso soup I've ever had is the instant kind that you just add water to. I stopped buying it when I read the ingredients more carefully because I'm a vegetarian and found that there's bonito in it. I craved miso soup suddenly today, so found this recipe and tweaked it to make it vegetarian. Instead of dashi, I put a little vegetarian shitake mushroom oyster-flavor sauce and kelp granules. And I added shitake mushrooms (the dehydrated ones that are soaked in water first). I happened to have leftover fried tofu, so I cut them into cubes to put in this broth. I'm very pleased with how it came out and will be making it again. Not only is it vegetarian, but way better-tasting then the instant miso I accidentally ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Common way of making Miso using granules. A couple of notes from my own experience...I use 1T miso for every cup of dashi (i.e. the broth). This makes it easier for me to remember the ratio. When using silken tofu, look for the Extra Firm Silken Tofu. You want that restaurant quality creamy tofu experience but you also want the block to hold up. Extra Firm Silken does this. Finally, I add a bit of rehydrated wakame (seaweed) as well. A little wakame goes a long way as it expands greatly. Rehydrate with boiling water in a separate vessel, drain, and add to the end soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States