Miso Soup with Shiitake Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was delicious, quick, and healthy. I made it as written except that I added a bit of dried wakame (seaweed) after the mushrooms. Used half a "brick" of tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This was quick and easy. I add some seaweed instead of tofu and worked like a charm. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
My husband and son both have a fish allergy so this is a great alternative to using dashi stock. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
GREAT and easy recipe for my first time making miso soup. Tastes much like the soup at our favorite Japanese restaurant. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
8 cups water, 4 t. BTB veggie base, 10 re- hydrated shitake (add mushroom water to broth), 1/3 cup miso paste, 4 t. soy, 6 green onions, 2/3 of a block of tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was just an ok soup. It was lacking... something. I'm not an expert about miso soup. It was edible, not bad, some of the crowd I made it for enjoyed it but I could tell it was basically a half-assed attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Just Delicious! Easy to make and tastes GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I am not familiar with Japanese cuisine, so I can say nothing about the authencity of this soup. Overall, we liked the taste, but we didn`t enjoyed it so much. Maybe the main reason for it is that we didn`t like the taste of the miso paste so much. I think the soup was lacking something, but I don`t know what I want to see here at this point. I added more shiitake mushrooms than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I replaced the Shitake mushrooms with Chantrelle mushrooms and then poured it over a well cooked yam in my soup bowl. It was wonderful but I think pumpkin or another squash would work just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alyonushka
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Easy and quick to cook, taste very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States