Miso Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
My mother was Japanese, born and raised in Japan. Miso soup always starts out with a dashi base. The easiest to find and use is "Hondashi". Found in the Asian section of most markets and always in Asian markets. Add to boiling water - about 1 tsp to 1 cup boiling water, stir to dissolve. Then adjust to your own taste. I don't use barley miso, only soybean miso either Shiso Miso or Aka Miso. You can add whatever you want to your soup. My mother used whatever we had on hand. If your greens take a bit longer to cook, I suggest you partially cook them in the boiling water before you add the Hondashi. Miso is a thick paste consistency so I like to take a ladle of the boiling water and stir in my miso to melt and then add it back into the pot. Miso soup naturally separates so you might have to give your soup a little stir as you eat. I say experiment with what you like for add-ins. If you want, start with the "traditional" recipe but then make the recipe your own. If it tastes good to you, then it's your "traditional" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I liked the spinach - it needs to be fresh though, and just wilted into the soup. I used 1 tbsp Genmai brown rice Miso per cup of water since it was too bland for me. If you don't have dashi use a good splash of Thai or Vietnamese fish sauce for the umami flavour. And it was improved with a bit of Bragg liquid aminos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanadjinEh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
A very good and easy to make soup. I doubled the recipe and used vegetable broth instead of water. I used 4 tablespoons of "Mellow White" miso, it's a mild miso so I used more than the recipe called for . I really enjoyed the fresh spinach, it's a good substitute for seaweed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
My grandson loves miso soup, where can I find the miso paste, he will love this soup once I have found all the ingredients.Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christaann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Of Spain, Port-Of-Spain, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Monterey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I opted to through in some brags liquid aminos. Made it better to me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celia
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
pretty good, my first attempt at making miso soup (or even using miso). I used kale instead of spinach, and a lot more than the recipe calls for. I just know that I like kale in soup and had some so I made the change, next time I'll try bok choy. It was kind of bland and I doubled the miso paste, that must have something to do with my paste. I'll definitely make again, seems like there are lots of good variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I think this recipe need [dashi]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
it's not bad... not the traditional Japanese miso soup though, I must say. Normally you don't put spinach in the soup... it's traditionally nori (seaweed). But, like I said, not bad. Sorry, not trying to be too critical... being part Japanese and after working at a Japanese restaurant for 6 years, I'm pretty picky about how Japanese food is put together, haha, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMomma92607

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
i thought this recipe was ok. Nothing great. I did not have the two kinds of miso so i just added 3T of the miso i had. The flavor wasn't bad, just not right. I'll try some others..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Broth is watery. It needs the flavor and depth of dashi (Japanese fish stock) as a previous reviewer mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States