Miso Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This is a simple and outstanding soup. Flavor is as good as anything you would find in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Very simple to make. Mellow, calming flavors. The tofu I used wasn't firm enough so make sure you get extra firm. I sauteed it in peanut oil beforehand. Also added some sliced baby bella mushrooms. A good introduction to miso soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Yum. I didn't have both kinds of miso, so I used 3TB of white miso(I wanted it a bit stronger). Added a bit of extra green onion...and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWATwife
Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I went to an asian grocery store and yet couldn't find anything other than generic soybean miso paste. This still turned out very good, though a tad salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This wasn't what I thought it'd be. It probably was because I used frozen instead of fresh spinach. My husband didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
i thought this was a great introductory recipe to making miso soup, it tasted a lot like the appetizers at sushi places. simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Miso soup tastes waterery without a Japanese soup stock called "dashi". My grand mother used to make it from the scratch with sea weed and a dried tuna. You can buy ready-made "dashi-no-moto" at most of Asian super market. It adds deepness and a great aroma to the miso soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akiko Ono

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nakano, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This was a great soup. The only thing missing are the crunchies that come in my favorite local soup. Thanks so much, I love being able to make this soup at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I thought this was a great recipe. I made the soup with slices of white mushrooms and added a few more scallons for taste. I almost doubled the miso paste as well for more taste. Just be sure not to add too much barsley paste because it will be too strong. FYI-I got the miso paste in the refrigerator section at Whole Foods (health food store) next to the tofu. This is a good recipe and I feel so relaxed and healthy after sipping on this great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gidgit1880

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I thought this soup was very good and is one of the few vegetarian versions I've seen. I followed the recipe except I added barley and red miso rather than the white and used a little more than called for. This is a keeper and will be a fun recipe to try variations with like the broths and mushrooms suggested by other reviewers or a bit of powdered soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States