Miso Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
The fish tasted like vinegar! We double checked the amount, and it was correct: 3 tablespoons. We couldn't even eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Wow! My husband who doesn't usually care much for salmon, raved about this dish last night! I'll be making more of this. I used two small salmon steaks, halved the sauce recipe, and marinated the steaks. Then I stuck them whole pan - steaks and sauce, into the oven for about 25 minutes. Didn't try broiling, but the tender steaks simmered in the sauce beautifully and they were so tender and delicious! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Mine yielded waaaaay too much sauce (like twice as much) and it was really salty. However, I'm inclined to blame the miso paste that I bought since no one else complained about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
1 cup miso paste = way too salty as noted by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I did not have sake, nor the salad dressing. I simply omitted these two ingredients. Based on the review, I also reduce the water, to make sure that the sauce is not too watery. I also did not poach the fish in advance, because salmon usually cooks very fast in the oven. The taste is awesome. It gives a perfect balance. I love this recipe and would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This was sooo good! I didn't have sake in the house, and I substituted honey for brown sugar. It was a big hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Good recipe but needs some adjusting for my taste. Way too much miso, it overwhelmed everything including the salmon. I would also either add more Sake or ignore it all together, the amount in the recipe isn't noticeable. Also, I have no idea where to find soy-ginger salad dressing. It wasn't at the specialty store, it wasn't at the grocery store, So I just added 1/4 cup soy sauce and 1 tsp fresh ginger. I'll try it again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Grilled the salmon instead of bake/broil. Instead of the salad dressing I used a generous splash of light soy, fresh ground ginger, garlic, some mirin instead of sake, a bit of rice wine vineager and a squeeze of lime. I used maybe a quarter cup of miso since it seemed like it would be too salty with more. I also used honey instead of brown sugar. Took half of the ingredients mixed for a marinade, then added the rest to sauteed onions, baby garlic, scallions, snow peas and wheat pasta as a sauce. Overall a little salty but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
What a fantastic and different way to do salmon! The only change I made was I didn't have prepared soy-ginger dressing, so I mashed up some sushi ginger in 3tbsp of soy sauce. It was great! The only thing I'll do different next time is not poach the salmon beforehand. Salmon cooks quickly enough in the oven without the added step of poaching. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was delicious! I didn't have sake and it still came out great. Poaching the fish first gave it a nice, delicate texture. Next time I will cut down on the amount of sauce though because I had a lot left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Miso Salmon and Kale Chips

What's cooking in San Rafael? Michelle's quick miso salmon and kale chips.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States