Miso Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Family ate it right up. I did leave out the sake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Hi, this is overall a very good recipe, the sauce came out delicious, and I think most of this recipe is the sauce.I don't know that I would agree that this is that "easy",it's certainly not hard,but there are a lot of ingredients to measure out,and most of these items are not things I had on hand (e.g. miso paste,seasoned rice vinegar, sake,soy-ginger salad dressing...Pay careful note to the type of vinegar,one review said it came out too vinegary,don't use the wrong vinegar, there is apparently quite a difference in taste depending on the type.) Luckily I pretty much found all of these ingredients at Whole Foods, with the exception of the soy-ginger dressing.It doesn't seem like anyone found that,my work-around was this great Asian sesame dressing with a few sprinkles of powdered Ginger added.Based on the reviews, I also lessened the miso paste to about half and lessened the water just a bit.I added a little basil.The sauce was incredible.I found it to be delicious and just the right consistency.However, I doused my salmon with it, and perhaps I shouldn't have done that.I skipped poaching, and after following the baking/broiling time exactly, my salmon was still not cooked. Served it to my boyfriend.He asked that it be put back in the oven(embarrassing!)After another 15 mins I served it.It was still super moist, maybe slightly mushy.Fantastic flavor,I don't know if I had too much sauce or if salmon is just not his thing since he prefers steak.May try on a different fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Followed the recipe to a T. Oh so good! A good way to use up leftover miso when I buy a container of it to make miso soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whoshungry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I'm quite a fan of the recipe's ingredients but am sorry to have wasted my fresh salmon on this recipe. I found it to be quite/too salty. It may be the miso paste I had on hand but never noticed the over-saltiness in the soups I've made before with this paste. I think the proportions of the ingredients are off. Cut way back on the miso. I won't be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I made one substitution. Because Trader Joe's didn't carry miso paste, I used a packet of instant Miso soup powder and omitted the water in the recipe. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Due to a slight miscalculation, I ended up making the marinade, and then brushing it on the salmon in order to grill it. We grilled a 1.5 lb salmon on medium for about 25-30 mins, brushing on more marinade every 5 mins or so. The result was incredible. I only wish I had been able to have more sauce (maybe next time)! I paired this with a home made mango salsa, and it was suddenly like I was at a restaurant! Absolutely perfect and delicious. If you do choose to grill it though, definitely lessen the recipe....I had so much marinade left over! What a waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nutley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Wow, my wife called me a cheff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Ok, so I didn't follow this exactly (sorry!) but it's a recipe that you can play with I think. My husband said it was "exceptional"... and then "why eat out??" :) I quartered the miso (per other suggestions), halved the brown sugar and just added powdered ginger since I didn't have the salad dressing and thought adding more soy sauce would make it way too salty. I served it with green beans and white rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dothemooshoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
The fish tasted like vinegar! We double checked the amount, and it was correct: 3 tablespoons. We couldn't even eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Miso Salmon and Kale Chips

What's cooking in San Rafael? Michelle's quick miso salmon and kale chips.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States