Miso Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I'm quite a fan of the recipe's ingredients but am sorry to have wasted my fresh salmon on this recipe. I found it to be quite/too salty. It may be the miso paste I had on hand but never noticed the over-saltiness in the soups I've made before with this paste. I think the proportions of the ingredients are off. Cut way back on the miso. I won't be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I made one substitution. Because Trader Joe's didn't carry miso paste, I used a packet of instant Miso soup powder and omitted the water in the recipe. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Due to a slight miscalculation, I ended up making the marinade, and then brushing it on the salmon in order to grill it. We grilled a 1.5 lb salmon on medium for about 25-30 mins, brushing on more marinade every 5 mins or so. The result was incredible. I only wish I had been able to have more sauce (maybe next time)! I paired this with a home made mango salsa, and it was suddenly like I was at a restaurant! Absolutely perfect and delicious. If you do choose to grill it though, definitely lessen the recipe....I had so much marinade left over! What a waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nutley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Wow, my wife called me a cheff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Ok, so I didn't follow this exactly (sorry!) but it's a recipe that you can play with I think. My husband said it was "exceptional"... and then "why eat out??" :) I quartered the miso (per other suggestions), halved the brown sugar and just added powdered ginger since I didn't have the salad dressing and thought adding more soy sauce would make it way too salty. I served it with green beans and white rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dothemooshoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
The fish tasted like vinegar! We double checked the amount, and it was correct: 3 tablespoons. We couldn't even eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Wow! My husband who doesn't usually care much for salmon, raved about this dish last night! I'll be making more of this. I used two small salmon steaks, halved the sauce recipe, and marinated the steaks. Then I stuck them whole pan - steaks and sauce, into the oven for about 25 minutes. Didn't try broiling, but the tender steaks simmered in the sauce beautifully and they were so tender and delicious! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Mine yielded waaaaay too much sauce (like twice as much) and it was really salty. However, I'm inclined to blame the miso paste that I bought since no one else complained about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
1 cup miso paste = way too salty as noted by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I did not have sake, nor the salad dressing. I simply omitted these two ingredients. Based on the review, I also reduce the water, to make sure that the sauce is not too watery. I also did not poach the fish in advance, because salmon usually cooks very fast in the oven. The taste is awesome. It gives a perfect balance. I love this recipe and would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Miso Salmon and Kale Chips

What's cooking in San Rafael? Michelle's quick miso salmon and kale chips.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States