Miso-Glazed Skirt Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Turn steak 90 degrees for marks...180 keeps the lines the same...someone didn't do well with highschool math!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dell Van Leuven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
KEEPER! I made this exactly according to the recipe and it was great. I had to go to the Asian store for the Miso Paste - it is in the refrigerated section. This is company worthy, for sure. I served it with grilled fresh pineapple & sugar snap peas with a simple green salad with Miso Sesame Dressing from this site. What a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Tried the recipe last night. Skirt steak is a cheap flavorful cut, perfect for marinades like this. I make a similar recipe, add mirin and maple syrup, on Sea Bass and broil in the oven. Yum! Next time I'll add maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
WOW!!! What's not to love about this!?!? This was of the best skirt steaks I have ever eaten, and I prepare it often using many different recipes. I made it exactly as written and it was perfect - no changes necessary - but I wouldn't expect any less from Chef John! Very tender and flavorful. I'm not sure why the other reviewer's steak was tough. Skirt steak needs to be cut against the grain. Miso paste can be obtained from any Asian market in the refrigerated section. Sure, it's not available in your everyday grocery store, but no reason to rate the recipe down for that! I'll definitely be making this for company and I know they'll be impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I used on filet mignon and grilled it. It was very tasty and unique. My husband and teenage son loved it. I am going to try on salmon tonight. I would recommend to add two teaspoons of MIRIN, which Japanese use a lot for TERIYAKI or MIso based sauce. And for salmon, I would add a little bit of ginger to kill the fishy smell. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
It was very tasy and easy to make. I did have to make an extra trip to get the Miso, but well worth it. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig Mayer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Derwood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Delicious!!! I don't know where you get your skirt steaks , jcoates, but it's definitely not cheap!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I give this three stars for the flavor. I made this following the recipe exactly. While I loved the flavor, the steak itself was tough. I cooked it to exactly 140 degrees (rare). This is the first time I have cooked skirt steak, and unless I can figure out why it was so tough (I couldn't even eat half of my serving. I gave up trying to chew it because my jaw ached) I won't be fixing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This was absolutely delicious!! Only reason for 4 stars is because of the difficulty of obtaining the yellow miso paste! Few ingredients, easy prep, love it and will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn42081

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
OMG is this to die for. I did not change a thing. So easy to fix and a wonderful flavor. I also did the cherry tomatoes on the grill like the video and served with sauteed spinach. I found Miso at HEB/Central Market. Any store that prepares sushi will have it for sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Miso-Glazed Skirt Steak

See how to make a simple miso glaze for grilled steaks.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States