Miso-Glazed Skirt Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This I love, so easy and good. I read a few other comments about their steaks being hard to chew. What you have to do with Skirt or Flank Steak is to cut it across the grain. You will have melt in your mouth tender steak at medium rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I would have given this a 3 star because of the flavor if only I could have chewed my steak without my jaw getting sore. I followed the directions to a tee, but I just couldn't finish it. Luckily I had made a delicious potato casserole to go with it, so I didn't starve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Had it last night. We found Minute Miso in Roger's Supermarket in St. Joe. We went to Falatic's meat market and they didn't have skirt steak, suggested flank steak. We followed the recipe and we all thought it was great. It is tender when it is cooked at least to medium. Rarer, as Chef John said, is tough. Surley wondered why her's/his was tough and it was because they cooked it rare. I'm going to make it for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acorn2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union Pier, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Thank you Chef John for introducing me to Skirt Steak. I made this recipe and the coffee/soda recipe and both were awesome! And so quick! The only alteration I will make next time is to add a little extra miso....just a personal preference. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
TOUGH AS NAILS. I would not recommend skirt steak or flatiron steak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snctygnd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Followed the directions as listed. We cooked it in the broiler for a total of 5 minutes, The meat was tender however the flavor was average. It seemed to be lacking something distinctive. We will try it again however we add 1-2 more cloves of garlic and some flavored sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Steak as tough as an old boot. Won't be using skirt steak again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
OMG is this to die for. I did not change a thing. So easy to fix and a wonderful flavor. I also did the cherry tomatoes on the grill like the video and served with sauteed spinach. I found Miso at HEB/Central Market. Any store that prepares sushi will have it for sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Good recipe, I've been cooking skirt steak for over 40 years and its one of my favorite pieces of meat. That said, you can ruin it by cooking it too much. It must be med rare to be tender with or without a marinade. If you don't like steak cooked red, don't bother with this cut because you will never be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I love this. My husband said its too much miso so next time i would wipe the steak down before i cook it. I also use the fork to tenderize the meat while marinate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Miso-Glazed Skirt Steak

See how to make a simple miso glaze for grilled steaks.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States