Miso Braised Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
slow cooked. very delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Easy peasy.. Came out fabulous.. Used miso soup mix (shiro) my filipino hubs was a happy camper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
The whole family loved this. After step 1, threw everything in the slow cooker because we were going to be out all day, and after 8 hours it came out awesomely tender. It microwaved even more tender and flavorful over the next few days. No extra water was needed - it still made so much gravy - more than I know what to do with. Served over angel hair. Cut down the brown sugar by half (dad is diabetic) and didn't miss the rest - followed the recipe to a T otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by AGEHLKE
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This dish was so easy to make, I put the pork in a crock pot, mix the other ingredients, poured it in the crock pot. You can use white or yellow miso paste, I had yellow miso on hand so it worked out perfect! Although it was a bit salty we all loved it! I might try it with just a 1/2 cup of miso (we don't have low salt miso) and low sodium soy the next time. I skim off the oil from the top before serving since pork butt is a very fatty cut. I will definitely make this one again! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I really liked this. Did in the slow cooker : lo 8 hours. I added more water to cover the pork, but it ended being too much. Also I used 3/4 cups miso paste, not miso soup. The instructions were a bit unclear. . Also I added 2 teaspoons ginger rather than just one. Awesome!! This is going in the rotation as it was good the first night with sauteed cabbage and rice. It was even better the second night. I used some of the broth to sauteed collard greens down and then served it over rice. The 2 year old chowed down! Perfect weeknight meal. 10 minute prep in am. Come home cook rice and sautee veggies. Easy and tons of leftovers. Definitely a comfort food being from Hawaii and all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This is AMAZING. Makes A LOT of rice so that you have something to soak up the sauce. You will want to eat all of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, using low sodium soy sauce. This was not too salty, nor too fatty. I did simmer it for the last 20 mins uncovered, but the sauce thickened up as it cooled anyway. I served it with Kings Hawaiian rolls as an alternative proten at a sushi party. All 5 lbs were devoured. I barely had to clean the dutch oven. Perfect and amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I won't lie. I skipped step one and dumped everything into the crockpot and set it on high before i headed out on a sunday morning. when i got back in that evening- the meat was falling off the bone, tender, full of flavor. will definitely make this again- and thinking of trying it with other meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I am uber excited to try this dish. My problem is the white (shiro) miso. I have looked at vons, trader joes, and fresh and easy. Perhaps I do not know what I am looking for. Does anybody have a tip they would be willing to share?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taft, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MariaTheSoaper
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
loved the flavors of this miso braised pork. I didn't slice the pork roast as ours was Bone In, but still seared the roast in a pan and followed the direction as if it was sliced. Though at one point I was concerned the roast wasn't going to FIT in the pan (it was 5.5lbs!) but luckily I have a 7qt slow cooker to hold the behemoth! The only thing I would change is next time is to add some kind of thickener to the "juice/drippings" afterwards, because its watery on its own. Instead we used it as a "jus" in small bowls to dip the meat into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States