Miso and Soy Chilean Sea Bass Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CookingMaMa08
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
UPATE 2: I tried this recipe on wild cod filets and it is by far the BEST choice of fish. If you don't get to marinade it for 3 hrs, it's OK. Just save the marinade and cook it into a sauce aferwards. I now like to place it on the top rack of the oven and broil it for 10-12 minutes or until it's done. This method is better than baking which also takes a longer time. But you will need to make sure it doesn't burn. This recipe has become one of my favorite!!! UPDATE 1: I used this recipe again on halibut filet. It was just as tasty. I got to marinade the fish for 4 hours, but still kept the marinade and cooked it into a sauce. And the sauce made a difference. Cook time for the halibut was also around 20-25 minutes baked at 400 degree. ------- EXCELLENT marinate!!! I had a grilled fish dish at a Japanese restaurant last week and this marinade tastes just like it! My hubby who hates cooked fish enjoyed this too. We got frozen sea bass, so it might taste a bit fishy, this marinade really helps to reduce the fishy taste. The reason why I gave this a 4-stars is the sea bass isn't fully cooked at 400 degree for 7-9 minutes. It really took me 20 something minutes with baking instead of broiled and checked it by poking a fork through. I didn't have time to marinate it for 3-6 hrs, so I only marinaded it for an hour and cooked the marinaded for dipping. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMaMa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Foster City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
One word for this recipe.....YUMMYLICIOUS!!! At least that should be a word. Make sure to marinate the fish for at least 4 hours, use a hot pan (med to medium high heat) with just a touch of olive oil, and cook one side for two minutes to get a nice crust, and then turn over and cook for another five minutes covered. Comes out moist and delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Absolutely Awesome - the sea bass melts in your mouth - baked at 400 for 15 minutes - turning once - came out perfect. Marinated for full 6 hours - so easy and delicious. A definite repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SycamoreMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Well done, I pan roasted the sea bass in a hot pan with canola oil on a grill. The recipe is easy, and if you get the fish to glaze properly, it is delicious. Bok choy and rice is a great accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Wonderful Flavor.. I had a nice piece of Halibut and some jumbo sea scallops... marinated them together for about six hours... baked at 400 for 3min and then broiled at higher heat for about 6min... They came out perfectly cooked. brought the leftover marinade to a simmer for about 4-5 min... wonderful sauce to serve along with fish, rice, and fresh asparagus... garnished with chive stems to look like it was served in a fancy Asian resturant.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jack
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Wow. Easy recipe with delicious results! I marinated for 6 hrs; broiled and watched the seabass until edges started to darken; then I flipped and did the same. Moist and flaky. Accompanied with brown rice and sauteed spinach [with a tsp of garlic, salt, hon-dashi]. I recommend removing the fish skin prior to broiling [some markets will do it for you], so all sides have color and no risk of breaking the fish after broiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I gave this two stars because it smelled delicious and that counts for something in my book.....but it DIDN;T get the rest of the three stars because it tasted absolutely terrible. I was SHOCKED when I tasted this fish because, again, it smelled SO good. But it really tasted bad. Too much rice wine or something...I would consider making this again and substituting the rice wine for something else or putting more of a teriyaki spin on it....but never again like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchengal

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This marinade makes a glorious reduction. Don't pour it out! The green onions are a must. Perfect ying and yang. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This is the 2nd time I've used a miso paste glaze on fish and it is spectacular. I thought this sauce was a tad too sweet, but my husband disagreed and loved it with the brown sugar. I'll probably put in a smidge less next time. I only had cod but it was a suitable replacement for the sea bass. Delicious. Thanks for the recipe, Swest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
YUM!! It was soo good! I used a black cod instead of the sea bass with this recipe and marinated it overnight. I baked it for 12 minutes at 400 degrees in the oven. It was awesome! I'm already craving for some more already! Will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sea Bass a la Michele

Roasted sea bass and potatoes with sherry vinegar and smoked paprika vinaigrette.

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Miso Salmon and Kale Chips

What's cooking in San Rafael? Michelle's quick miso salmon and kale chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States