Miriam's Not-So-Secret Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Excellent bread, bakes up beautifully, smells wonderful and people are always very impressed by how professional it looks! I've never had this recipe fail me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
The dough was easy to make and rose well, but making the long ropes and braiding the dough was difficult. I made 1 braided loaf and put the extra dough in the fridge. The bread looked wonderful when I took it out of the oven, I was impressed with my efforts. But I was a little disappointed when I tasted it...Not a lot of flavor at all... A bit bland for me. Not at all terrible by any means, but I was expecting a bit more flavor after doing all that work. Maybe that was somewhat my fault because I used all purpose flour instead of bread flour (simply because I didn't notice that until I had begun). Good dough to practice with though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lissalea
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I made this in the bread machine and halved the recipe for just one loaf. I needed an egg bread for french toast and bread pudding, and this turned out beautifully! I did have to use almost 4 c. of flour for a half recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Followed the instruction and I have a few comments. It took more than 7 cups of flower to get the dough elastic enough but not sticky. Secondly while it has risen to twice its size the first and the second time (after braiding it), it came out flat like in the picture. I am used to a bigger challah so I am not sure if baking powder or different type of yeasts were needed. Baking time was and should be less than 45 minutes or the temp recommendations here are incorrect. The bread came out slightly darker than the picture after 38 minutes. Lastly, while the house filled with wonderful scent of baking, the flavor was not that great. Somewhat sweet but nothing else. I would stick to white sugar only and probably more than a 1/2 cup to give it a slightly sweeter note.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DwayneNAnne
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Oh wow, this is delicious and beautiful! Sweet and dense but soft. I wish I could post a picture; I curled my 2 braids into C's on my baking stone. I didn't have the seeds needed so we sprinkled on a little caraway and rosemary. It takes forever- but that's good bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwayneNAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lefahy
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
First time I have made Challah! I love the look of braided bread - it was wonderful in smell, taste and beautiful to look at. I followed the recipe exactly except I used butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lefahy
Home Town: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I have tried dozens of recipes for Challah, and have been making it every weekend for years. This recipe is foolproof. I make a few simple changes, nothing so significant that I would rate the recipe anything below five stars. I use canola oil instead of melted margarine (we have a soy allergy in the family and it is easier), and I add a tiny bit more sugar- maybe an extra tablespoon. Instead of sprinkling with poppy seeds, I use coarse sea salt or sugar- sometimes a combination of both! Love this Challah, thank you Miriam. Shabbat Shalom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Excellent! Excellent! I don't usually have success making breads but this one...was easy and turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Every time i tried making challah before, some how or another i messed it up. I made this recipe already 5 times and each time it came out GR8, well more then great. I added extra salt and a lot of basil, parsley and garlic powder. My friends keep asking me to make more for them every week....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States