Miriam's Not-So-Secret Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
OY is this a wonderful and different way to make a challah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
I think this is a very good challah--it turns out light and feathery, but I can't give it 5 stars because it too isn't as good as Challah I in my opinion. Challah I is more dense, but it's soft and has terrific mouth feel. If you want a lighter challah though, this is certainly one to try and it's very good. I sprinkled poppy seeds on top--very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
The first yeast bread I have ever made! It came out wonderful...I feel like a pro !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Amazing, Light and delicious! Make sure (I guess as with all bread!) to use ACTIVE yeast :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Our family bakes bread twice weekly, and I'm fairly versed in both egg and yeast-only breads. This bread is as light as cotton candy, and yet tastes rich on your tongue. It makes great french toast once it has gone stale. Just perfect. The only downfall is that it takes 3 packets of yeast. However, yeast comes in a 3 pack, and yeast is cheap, so I guess that's not a big deal either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
The first time I ever made Challah on my own and it turned out great. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This is an amazing bread; it is so moist and fluffy! My dough was really sticky, so I ended up adding about 1/2 cup of extra flour, and my braid spread out a little because the dough was soft! The end result wasn't beautiful, but the taste definitely made up for it! Thanks for the yummy recipe; I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I liked it but I just cant seem to get the braid to look braided! It keeps coming out looking like a loaf than a Challah, what is the secret?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
everyone at the gathering loved this bread. Great texture and favor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I just finished making this Challah (my very first one) about an hour ago. It's beautiful & fluffy, although not as sweet as I thought it would be with the 1/2 cup of sugar. I thought I screwed up because it was still sticky when I let it rise. I was so paranoid about adding too much flour making it stiff and kneading it too much which would make dense. I was able to make 3 loafs out of this batch. I think my converted jewish brother-in-law would be proud of me. Next time I won't be too afraid to add a little more flour or to knead it a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States