Miriam's Not-So-Secret Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Oh sooo good!! There is nothing like the feeling you get when a recipe makes you feel like a pro!! This is fool proof. I did add a little honey to mine and halved the brown sugar.(it was still sweet) I did everything in my kitchen Aid with the dough hook, (kneaded for 6-7 minutes) it couldnt have been easier. The dough was really sticky like others said but I just used a couple tablespoons extra of flour and a floured surface to form the braided loaves, dont worry about the sticky texture. It turns out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSIEQ203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This dough was very very sticky. Was a little nervous about it turning out ok, but it was delicious. Made it for Christmas Eve/Day meals. A delicious, sweet bread. A real treat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Beautiful bread, but not much taste. Will use some of the other comments next time I make it. I used butter. The time of 45 minutes is almost 10 min. too long, I took mine out after 35 min. and the top was quite brown. I put the egg wash on too thick which made the bread stick to a greased pan. I used the dough hook on my Kitchen Aid mixer to mix the bread/knead for 7 min. then hand kneaded it for 2 more min. As I said the bread presents beautifully, no problem w/stickiness that a touch of additional flour didn't solve. Very easy to make using dough hook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Turned out awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Super easy recipe!! We made pumpkin french toast with it, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamgal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was my firsttry at Challah & I was very nervous. But it came out beautiful looking & so fluffy & tasty. It's been dubbed our new Thanksgiving bread by my family. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
tasty! a very good bread but it really didn't taste sweet enough to be classified as challah IMO. i followed the recipe exactly but had to add more flour as the dough was really too sticky and i was actually able to make three smaller loaves rather than two huge ones. i liked this recipe but might consider some of the tips from other reviews to make it sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Made this for Easter dinner, and it was wonderful! Not as hard as it sounds at first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Ok I never made challah bread. I have made numerous others though. I wanted it for an Easter bread. I braided it and placed it on a cookie sheet. I put 3 uncooked colored eggs in the center of the braids. It came out awesome. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORAKIART

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
yummy! I was looking for a lighter challah with flavor and this was perfect. My husband loved it. Only thing was I followed what the other reviewers said about adding more sugar and it was a mistake, it came out too sweet. next time I'll stick to the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States