Miriam's Not-So-Secret Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Beautiful bread, but not much taste. Will use some of the other comments next time I make it. I used butter. The time of 45 minutes is almost 10 min. too long, I took mine out after 35 min. and the top was quite brown. I put the egg wash on too thick which made the bread stick to a greased pan. I used the dough hook on my Kitchen Aid mixer to mix the bread/knead for 7 min. then hand kneaded it for 2 more min. As I said the bread presents beautifully, no problem w/stickiness that a touch of additional flour didn't solve. Very easy to make using dough hook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Turned out awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Super easy recipe!! We made pumpkin french toast with it, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamgal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was my firsttry at Challah & I was very nervous. But it came out beautiful looking & so fluffy & tasty. It's been dubbed our new Thanksgiving bread by my family. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
tasty! a very good bread but it really didn't taste sweet enough to be classified as challah IMO. i followed the recipe exactly but had to add more flour as the dough was really too sticky and i was actually able to make three smaller loaves rather than two huge ones. i liked this recipe but might consider some of the tips from other reviews to make it sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Made this for Easter dinner, and it was wonderful! Not as hard as it sounds at first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Ok I never made challah bread. I have made numerous others though. I wanted it for an Easter bread. I braided it and placed it on a cookie sheet. I put 3 uncooked colored eggs in the center of the braids. It came out awesome. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORAKIART

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
yummy! I was looking for a lighter challah with flavor and this was perfect. My husband loved it. Only thing was I followed what the other reviewers said about adding more sugar and it was a mistake, it came out too sweet. next time I'll stick to the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I've made challah almost every week for years and this is the best one yet! I put the ingredients in in a different order, as I've learned they should be added. Here's what I did: 1. Mix the yeast with 100 degree water and the white sugar and allow to bloom for 5 minutes, or until VERY foamy. 2. Mix in brown sugar, eggs and margarine. 3. Mix in flour and salt From there, I followed the recipe as normal. The challah was done after 30 minutes, so make sure you watch it closely. Cooking it for the 45 minutes the recipe suggest would ruin it in my oven! I added sesame seeds on top instead of poppies. It was just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMDMD

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Just finished baking it. It took me all day to make it. it looks great and the dough was so nice, BUT it is not challah like i know. Not sweet enough, it tastes more like bread. I'll try the challah with honey next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States