Miriam's Not-So-Secret Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by BreadBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Delicious! So easy! The only change I made was to follow the ingredients additions by reviewer CMDMD. Fabulous! The bread rose beautifully and the presentation and flavour was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
The only thing I changed was the baking time. In my electric oven at 350, it was done in 30 minutes with a beautiful, deep golden crust. I left off the seeds because I was sharing the bread with small children (they HATE seeds.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Just made this tonight, and already one loaf is gone! Yummy! This is a perfect "no fail" bread dough, I even mistakenly only used 1/2 the required yeast, and the bread still rose and baked up beautifully! I was worried it would be dense, but it is light and the texture is perfect. I only added 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and only used about a tsp of white to get the yeast started. The bread is still sweet enough for us, and will make a wonderful addition to our Easter Meal. I topped with a combo of poppy seeds and sesame seeds (only because I couldn't decide!), brushed twice with the egg mixture and baked only 1/2 hour in my oven. Made 1 GIANT loaf, and two smaller ones, picture perfect! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Very good bread recipe! As another reviewer suggested, I "bloomed" the yeast in the water and continued from there. My two loaves were HUGE! I put them on the same sheet pan, and they "expoded". There was a couple of inches around both loaves, after I braided them. By the time they came out of the oven, they were touching all sides of the pan, and each other. Might make three smaller loaves next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I've never had challah bread so it is hard for me to rate this recipe on the flavor of typical challah. So I will skip that part. As for the reviewer who had her bread fall flat she probably forgot salt, so don't forget to add that and your bread should be fine. Mine rose perfectly and looks stunning! It did only cook for about 30 minutes so be sure to check on it after 30 minutes in the oven. Thanks for a great recipe for a newbie to challah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
WOW! Made this bread as the basis for our bread pudding. Had a small piece out of the oven and it was amazing. Great crust. Wonderful flavor. Perfect texture. Cannot wait to eat the bread pudding; it is going to be the perfect finale for our Christmas dinner. One note, I did change the sugars to a 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup honey. Also as others did I brought the yeast alive before blending in the flour. Just personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I cut this recipe in half to make two manageable challahs. I still find that is plenty for a meal of 8-10 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eugenie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Wow! So delicous and easy! I followed the recipe, but made two loafs. One loaf was traditional with the addition of sprinkling kosher salt on top before baking! What a wonderful edition. The other one I added mini chocolate chips, and again, everyone raved! I definitely did not cook it 45 minutes. Watch it at 30 minutes to make sure it wouldn't burn and that the bread sounds hollow when you tap on it!. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Very nice! It is an exceptionally light and sweet challah-like bread. The poppy seeds make a wonderful final touch! A quick note on cooking time: this loaf should come out of the oven when it registers 190 degrees in the middle. Usually takes about 25-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
First Challa I tried. Everyone enjoys it and one child throws tantrums for it! I make the dough, let it rise, braid it -.and then freeze it after wrapping in plastic wrap. When I need it, I take the plastic wrap off and let it rise the second time for 3 hours (no extra yeast needed) . I then cook it. I did decrease time of cooking to 35 minutes for a more moist bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States