Miriam's Not-So-Secret Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I've been looking for the right challah recipe and I believe I've found it! I've made it 3 or 4 times already with great success. I use coconut oil in place of the margarine and have at times substituted some of the flour for some spelt flour. This gives it a denser consistency. It is so easy and fool proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I have tried this recipe twice and found the second time after brushed with honey and sprinkled with poppy seeds, it was great...5+ stars. But the first was still 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Everyone loved this bead! I made two loaves thinking it would last the length of Rosh Hashanah. Nope. My family ate an entire loaf in one night! I anticipate the second loaf will be gone just as quickly. This was a very simple recipe. The only thing I did differently was I followed the tips provided by CMDMD and I added half a cup of honey in addition to the white and brown sugar. This came out a bit more cake-like than traditional challah but oh so amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
A lovely recipe! This is the first time I've made challah and I couldn't be happier with it. I combined the ingredients the way another commenter did - yeast water sugar, then the eggs, etc. Very light and airy, has a wonderful flavor. Will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clay Center, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BreadBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Delicious! So easy! The only change I made was to follow the ingredients additions by reviewer CMDMD. Fabulous! The bread rose beautifully and the presentation and flavour was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
The only thing I changed was the baking time. In my electric oven at 350, it was done in 30 minutes with a beautiful, deep golden crust. I left off the seeds because I was sharing the bread with small children (they HATE seeds.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Just made this tonight, and already one loaf is gone! Yummy! This is a perfect "no fail" bread dough, I even mistakenly only used 1/2 the required yeast, and the bread still rose and baked up beautifully! I was worried it would be dense, but it is light and the texture is perfect. I only added 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and only used about a tsp of white to get the yeast started. The bread is still sweet enough for us, and will make a wonderful addition to our Easter Meal. I topped with a combo of poppy seeds and sesame seeds (only because I couldn't decide!), brushed twice with the egg mixture and baked only 1/2 hour in my oven. Made 1 GIANT loaf, and two smaller ones, picture perfect! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Very good bread recipe! As another reviewer suggested, I "bloomed" the yeast in the water and continued from there. My two loaves were HUGE! I put them on the same sheet pan, and they "expoded". There was a couple of inches around both loaves, after I braided them. By the time they came out of the oven, they were touching all sides of the pan, and each other. Might make three smaller loaves next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I've never had challah bread so it is hard for me to rate this recipe on the flavor of typical challah. So I will skip that part. As for the reviewer who had her bread fall flat she probably forgot salt, so don't forget to add that and your bread should be fine. Mine rose perfectly and looks stunning! It did only cook for about 30 minutes so be sure to check on it after 30 minutes in the oven. Thanks for a great recipe for a newbie to challah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
WOW! Made this bread as the basis for our bread pudding. Had a small piece out of the oven and it was amazing. Great crust. Wonderful flavor. Perfect texture. Cannot wait to eat the bread pudding; it is going to be the perfect finale for our Christmas dinner. One note, I did change the sugars to a 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup honey. Also as others did I brought the yeast alive before blending in the flour. Just personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States