Miracle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This is a favorite with a couple of my family members. I've found the cilantro a huge key and almost always substitute kale for the spinach. The spinach will 'melt' into the soup. The kale holds shape better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was good. It didn't remind me of hot and sour soup too much but it was still a good simple "asian" veggie soup with some protein thrown in. I added diced chicken and a handful of shrimp and left out the spinach (personal preference). Will probably make again and again just so I can get my veggies in and hopefully lose some weight! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is outstanding! I'm not a fan of bamboo shoots so used bean sprouts instead, and added the sesame seed oil as other reviewers mentioned. Otherwise, I followed recipe to a T. Even if I don't lose weight from this soup, it will be on my menu often. Thanks so much for sharing this awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsScarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Tasty, healthy and filling... just what soup should be! I made a few changes... I sauteed about 1/2 cup of chopped onion with the ginger and garlic, used fresh mushrooms, added about 10 oz of tofu and subsituted sesame oil for olive oil. I also only used only 1 bag of the frozen veggies and added a couple handfuls of fresh snowpeas. And I omitted the frozen spinach and added 3 heads of fresh baby bok choy (chopped leaves and stems). I didn't have fructose, so just used regular sugar. It came out great... a little spicy and very savory. I am sure I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I was reluctant to make this soup but was looking for a new, low-cal recipe. It's really very good! I may try it with chicken next time, or a combination of shrimp and chicken. Now let's hope for a miracle weight loss! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethafs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I loved this soup. It gave me sooooo much energy. I used veggie broth instead and did not used shrimp. I'm about to try it without the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
my family loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Litzen Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoven, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This is so good! I halved the recipe because it serves 20...we're only 2. I regretted it. It was almost gone (some for lunch)! I will make full recipe next time. I made it with cut up chicken but will make with shrimp. Husband raved...and he's not a soup fan. I added 2 TBS sesame oil to olive oil when I fried the ginger and garlic. Highly Recomend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Blair Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Nice recipe! It really does taste just like a hot and sour soup. I went a little lighter on the ginger and added a teaspoon of sesame oil, like the other reviewers suggested, and used all fresh vegetables and spinach, as opposed to frozen. I also served it over flat rice noodles to make it a bit more filling. If you are a cilantro fan (as I am) don't skip it, it really adds a bright and fresh flavor. We really enjoyed this and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I didn't eat this myself (not a fan of seafood) but I sent the recipe to my husband for a night I was working late. He followed the recipe exactly and LOVED this soup. He'll definitely be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States