Miracle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Love it! I used beef broth (only because I was out of chicken broth) and didn't have any bamboo shoots on hand so I omitted them. I also used canned straw mushrooms, 1 whole serrano pepper in place of the crushed red pepper, and 1 teaspoon of agave nectar in place of the fructose. Also, I didn't have any shrimp so I substituted 1 package of tofu shiritake noodles. This was so tasty on a cold, windy fall night - spicy and satisfying. I'll be making this lots, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIERSA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Very good. Added a drizzle of sesame oil when serving. Make sure you use all of the corn starch recommended since the soup thins out when frozen veggies added later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I absolutely loved this soup!!! I did lessen the amount of crushed red pepper to 1/2 tsp. but found this to be too hot for my husband. Next time I will only use 1/4 tsp. to make it mild in range. I love the idea that this is also so low in calories. Thanks, LILHEN!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
As written there is just too much soy for us and we find it does not need the sweetner nor the cornstarch. Why on earth would you want to thicken this good soup....oh well..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I loved the idea and I read through the reviews and this is what I came up with: I used fresh mushrooms and I did add Sesame Seed oil once I added all veggies (I used 1/4 tsp for the half of the recipe). I did not use any cornstarch - I prefer my soups more watery. I sauteed garlic and ginger for a couple of minutes, added broth (organic, low sodium), added all other ingredients, including soy, vinegar, pepper and all the veggies (I added them all together). I also added baby baby bok choy, cut in pieces, steams and leaves together. After some time I added tofu (or shrimps - I tried both) and when it was almost done added the spinach for about 3 min... All in all - great lunch I take to work with me and pretty easy to make! Was very filling and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Excellent recipe. Made it yesterday and the family loves it. If it helps with weight loss - I will be very grateful. Regardless, this recipe has become part of my "recipe box" of items that I will prepare often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This is a favorite with a couple of my family members. I've found the cilantro a huge key and almost always substitute kale for the spinach. The spinach will 'melt' into the soup. The kale holds shape better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was good. It didn't remind me of hot and sour soup too much but it was still a good simple "asian" veggie soup with some protein thrown in. I added diced chicken and a handful of shrimp and left out the spinach (personal preference). Will probably make again and again just so I can get my veggies in and hopefully lose some weight! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is outstanding! I'm not a fan of bamboo shoots so used bean sprouts instead, and added the sesame seed oil as other reviewers mentioned. Otherwise, I followed recipe to a T. Even if I don't lose weight from this soup, it will be on my menu often. Thanks so much for sharing this awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsScarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Tasty, healthy and filling... just what soup should be! I made a few changes... I sauteed about 1/2 cup of chopped onion with the ginger and garlic, used fresh mushrooms, added about 10 oz of tofu and subsituted sesame oil for olive oil. I also only used only 1 bag of the frozen veggies and added a couple handfuls of fresh snowpeas. And I omitted the frozen spinach and added 3 heads of fresh baby bok choy (chopped leaves and stems). I didn't have fructose, so just used regular sugar. It came out great... a little spicy and very savory. I am sure I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States