Miracle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I was really looking forward to making this soup.. I must say I was pretty disappointed with how it turned out. Maybe if the ginger was grated, then you would avoid the problem I had... I kept biting into ginger chunks and getting a very strong bitter flavor. The vegetables were soggy and gross and the broth tastes weird, and I eat pretty much anything and am very open minded. This recipe was a bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieElizabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I didn't follow this recipe exactly, but because what I made came out FANTASTIC I thought I would share :) I made half a batch and cut the cornstarch down by half (again), which I thought give it a great texture. The market didn't have a can of bamboo shoots, so I used a can of chop suey vegetables (which contains bamboo as well as sprouts and some other things) - I highly recommend that. There are several frozen stir-fry veggie mixes available, but I chose the Bird's Eye snap pea mix and it gave the soup a tiny bit of sweetness. Instead of fructose, I used two packets of Truvia. It doesn't sound like it would make a difference, but it was exactly right (I taste-tested before adding, after adding 1 packet, and after adding the second). I also followed some other reviewers' advice and left out the spinach - I didn't think it was missing anything. I used tofu instead of shrimp just because I was hoping to have leftovers around for the week; i used half of the package, and probably should have used less, but it went well. Finally, I forgot to halve the crushed red pepper so it was quite zingy. But I loved this soup the way I made it. I shouldn't have cut it in half though - my husband loved it too and it's all gone now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuddlebugs333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This base is fantastic. I will be making this a lot, and varying it, adding noodles as well! It's terrific as is, I added sesame oil, subbed about 1TBSP sugar for fructose and used mostly fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I read a lot of the reviews on this and decided to go with the majorities. Instead of spinach, I used Kale. I was a little nervous using kale because it seems to have an overpowering bitterness. But in this recipe it was great. I also used fresh veggies instead of frozen. I used low sodium everything because I have high blood pressure and have to watch my sodium intake (not to mention that if you're trying to lose weight, salt can cause you to retain water and gain weight). I also went with the suggestion to reduce the amount of corn starch. I have to say, if you like the thick consistency of regular hot and sour soup, don't reduce it. I love hot and sour soup and the thickness is one of the great things about it. If you like watery soups, reducing the amount of cornstarch is probably a good idea. Great soup, big batch, easy, and fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Excellent soup recipe! The flavor is devine and there are so many healthy ingredients. Will definitely make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Made this today for lunch and it was fantastic!! Will make this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Used chicken instead of shrimp and skipped the spinach like others suggested. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
My mom and I could barely eat this soup. Overpowering ginger flavor mixed with the salty overbearing soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
My daughter made this soup for me and it is absolutely the best recipe ever. She said she followed it to a tee. She said she would add more shrimp. I was wondering if diced tofu would be an interesting addition instead of shrimp? I think that the cornstarch added a nice subtle body to the soup rather than a straight broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I made this soup and it was amazing. Everyone in my family loved it. I added fresh bean sprouts, and omitted the bamboo shoots, as my stir-fry veggies already had some in it. As well I added baby bok choy, used fresh mushrooms instead of canned, omitted the frozen spinach, but added a couple of handfuls of fresh spinach at the end. You can add the red pepper to suit your taste. I also omitted the fructose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States