Miracle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
A very good, surprisingly flavorful soup. I left out the shrimp (can't eat shellfish). It was fine without it, but I would reduce the cornstarch in it - too gelatinous. I used fresh veggies and I think it would not taste as good if I'd made it with frozen veggies. Overall, a very good recipe and I'm picky about my soups! I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
I am not crazy over this one, but I will use it and modify it next time I make it only because it is such a great weight loss food. I do not like the way the soy sauce turns it such a dark brown color, and I didn't even use the full amount, also I don't think I would add the corn starch again, why would you want to thicken soup so much?? Next time I think I will go with alot less soy sauce and more chicken broth. I will definitly leave out the bamboo shoots too only because I discovered I don't like them. I also cut way back on the ginger and garlic, I can't imagine how strong it would have been if the full amount had of been used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
wonderful soup! delicious and suprisingly filling. next time i will try adding different types of mushrooms (perhaps shiitake or button) and some fresh bamboo shoots. oh yes and it's very easy to make (i'm only 19 and i had a great dinner in such a short time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
This is TERRIFIC. Only change I made was to cut the amount of garlic and pepper flakes in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Wow!! Great soup. Hard to believe it's so low in calories. I did add some sesame oil--it seemed to give it just that extra taste it needed. I left out the spinach but only because I didn't have any. Definitely will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I really enjoyed this soup. I added spaghettini for a more hardy texture. It freezes well and is delicious reheated in the microwave for lunch at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Thank you for sharing this recipe. I love it! I did make a few minor changes, such as 1/8 cup ginger, garlic and cilantro. Other than that I followed your recipe to the "T". Next time I might use cubed tofu instead of shrimp. Then again, I might use both. Tastes a lot like hot and sour soup which I love. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANGOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Way too much ginger in this for our tastes, won't be making this one again anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
This wasn't bad- Definitely better eaten the day that it is made. I liked the spices in it. Not sure I will make again- maybe it was the frozen shrimp I used..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
This soup is great! My kids loved it too even though it has spinach in it. Definately try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States