Miracle Baking Powder Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I am not an experienced pie maker. This crust was excellent. It was simple and could withstand extra handling. A very flaky crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2001
This was my first pue crust and it tasted very flaky. Great for first timers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
I've been making very good pie crusts for years with the standard Betty Crocker crisco + flour + water recipe, and I'm pretty good at it. But I wanted to experiment with adding baking soda so I chose Rocky's Miracle Pie Crust recipe. Premixing the flour mixture with the icewater flew in the face of everything I'd ever been taught. Plus I figured the sugar would accelerate the browning too much. But I took a leap of faith and tried it in a peach pie, and WOW! This crust far surpasses any crust I've ever made for texture and taste. And the dough was so much easier to handle that I couldn't believe it. The only change I made was to limit the salt to 1 tsp for the sake of my hypertense dad, and I thought the taste was plenty salty at that. Also, I baked my peach pie at 400 degrees and the crust turned out a gorgeous golden color. Thank you, thank you, thank you, Rocky! I'll never go back to Betty Crocker again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
313 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Yes, you can teach an old dog new tricks! I might have never tried this recipe, but reading CDC123's review piqued my interest. I'm an avid cook...a 40-year veteran. I also had a favorite, tried-and-true pie crust recipe. The thought of making a slurry (??!!) from some of the flour and the water made no sense at all to me, but I just had to try and see what the other reviewers were talking about. I followed the recipe, but instead of using shortening, I used 4 ounces of unsalted butter (one stick)and 4 ounces of lard. Butter adds a rich and wonderful flavor to pie crust, and lard produces a great flaky texture. Well, I was blown away. The dough is wonderful to work with, and the finished crust is drop-dead delicious and flaky. I have NEVER made a better pie crust. This is my new favorite. Thanks, Rocky, you taught this old dog a new trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOEKNEEBALONEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
I too wanted to try this recipe for something different. My mistake. Not flakey and bad taste ( the baking powder I guess). I will stick with hot water and lard crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
This is the best pie crust I have ever made! I used lard instead of shortening because I've heard that the lard will give you a flakier crust. Pairing that with this recipe definitly makes it a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEACHERMOM37

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Now I mean it this time! This is the BEST pie crust I have ever had. Do not doubt it or change it. Just try it for yourself and see. Yummy and flaky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I used this crust for all of my Thankgiving pie recipes. It was nice and flaky but the dough was hard to work with. Don't plan on making lattice top crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was definitely the flakiest crust I have ever made! I made one and one-half recipe for 3 single pie crusts. I used 1/3 butter and 2/3 shortening. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Was easy to make just didn't like the taste will stick w my pie crust recipe. Thanks though always looking to try something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States