Miracle Baking Powder Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I have never left a bad review, but this turned out not so great. It was definitely flakey, but it wouldn't hold together. I added more water and it turned out thick & hard. But that could have been my problem for altering the recipe. What REALLY bothered me was that with the salt and the baking powder it came out VERY salty. Far too much for a fruit pie. That is the reason for the 3 stars. It might work well for a meat pie. I will go back to a traditional crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKERS68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Super, super, reciepe, i used this for my chicken pot pie the other night, was terrific, will be making this again, will use this instead of my # 1 crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlie Lightfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cottonwood, Idaho, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I made this for the Tarte Provencale recipe on here, so I eliminated the sugar entirely. If I was making a fruit pie, I'd have left the sugar in. I halved the recipe to only make one pie crust but still ended up with a bit more than 1 crust. I'll figure out something to do with it--in the meantime it's languishing in the fridge. I used my food processor to mix the dry ingredients, then I slowly added ice water until it formed a ball. I am sure I added more water than called for, but I just wanted to avoid the crumbliness some reviewers complained about. I also halved the amount of salt. I did end up with a very flaky, excellent crust. I prebaked the crust for about 10 min, then baked my tarte for 40 min. All in all, I would use this recipe again. It was a bit difficult to roll out--used some of those little used muscles. A good workout! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This was easy and flaky. I'll use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This pie crust gets 5 stars from me! It was very flaky and tasty. I did have to add a little more water for easier rolling, maybe 1-2 tbls.and I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening. I used it for the crust of the Toutiere, (Meat Pie), also from this site and it made a great meal on a cold January evening. I will make again and again. Thanks for a tasty and unique pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Henderson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This probably would have been fine if I had cut the salt down to 1/2tsp. It was WAY to salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shmooge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Very good and also had a nice flaky consistancy that I was not expecting from this crust. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I liked this pie crust, and have used it several times. The only problem I have with it is that it is difficult for me to roll it very thin. As a result, the crust becomes too prominent in my pies. My Husband has rolled it thin enough, but it took him a long time and muscle power to get it right. Has a good taste tho. And is very flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is the best pie crust I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is my first attempt to make a pie crust. This is the best crust I have ever had. I wouldn’t change a thing. Yes it is flaky and delicate, but it taste sooo good. I can’t wait to make another. Thanks Rocky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States