Miracle Baking Powder Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I had given up recipes that required making a crust. I figured I just didn't have the knack for it. But this truly is "no fail". It turns out light and flaky every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I never make comments, but this crust was so great I just had to tell everyone. I have been making pie crusts since I was 6 years old and I am always looking for tips to make them lighter and flakier. This crust came out the best by far of any crust I have ever made. It's delicious! The only reason it's not a 5 is because you really do have to add quite a bit more water than called for. I also didn't add any sugar and I substituted butter for half the shortening. I will definitely be using this technique again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Was a little scared at first..But it turned out perfect..My kids didn't want the pie they wanted the crust!I will be using it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iC@nCo0K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Not a pro at pie crust, but I will be making many more now that Rocky shared this recipe, thanks Rocky. I used it with the Quiche (Southern egg pie) on this site. My luncheon was a success. Thanks for the recipes and thank-you all-recipe.com for this great web-site. You are helping us to feed family and friends a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
another old dog learning a new trick. Best pie crest I've made. My ex mother- inlaw(#3) always said I made flakey pie crust but they were never like this. One point, let warm up out of fridge before you roll out. If too cold very hard to get thin enough. I take leftover dough rolled out soread with butter sprinkel with Cinn/sugerroll and form cresent bake with pie untill brown,slice serve with ICECOLD milk. Like it better than the pie sometimes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed.Dolanski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I have never made any pie crust other than the one I always made with my mom when I was a child, but I decided to go crazy and try something new. This recipe is good. Yummy. Flaky and tender (see Alton Brown--it IS possible!) but actually I couldn't tell any difference. I used it for a quiche :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
New to cooking more than the box dinners. My wife showed me the value of using level scoops in the measure spoons. With the power of level scoops and of course literacy enableing me to follow directions allowed me to make a crust for apple pie that was off the chain! Flakey and tastey. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Followed the directions exactly and this was by far the easiest pie crust I have ever made! (In the past I have really only failed with pie crust and been forced to go out and get a frozen one!) I used butter, which was very decadent! And I chilled it for 15 minutes in the fridge before rolling it out, which was a great help. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I normally use commercial frozen pie crusts (not because they're good, but they're fast) but unexpectedly discovered late last night that there were none in my freezer for the Sausage Apple Quiche I planned for breakfast. Didn't want to go to the grocery store at the crack of dawn, so I pulled up this recipe and decided to give it a go. First, the substitutions: I used 1 cup of whole wheat pastry flour in place of one cup of the white flour. I used 2/3 cup shortening and 1/3 cup butter. I cut back the sugar to 1-1/2 teaspoons for this savory dish. I also read the "Making a Pie Crust, Step by Step" article on this website and accordingly refrigerated ALL of my ingredients (even the shortening) overnight. Even accounting for the extra crumbling potential of whole grain flour, I didn't have any trouble creating this crust. The amount of water is fine -- trust the recipe! The fat is the binding ingredient, not the water. The trick is, you have to press the dough into a ball (quickly so as not to warm the dough) instead of just stirring it. I divided the dough into 3 balls (for 3 quiche crusts), let them sit tightly wrapped in plastic wrap in the fridge for 30 minutes (no longer or the dough will get too hard to roll out), and rolled them between sheets of waxed paper. When I flipped them into the pie plates, they didn't crumble a bit, not even around the edges. Same when they were baked and served. They held up beautifully, had just the right texture and thickness for t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Innkeeper Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I haven't tasted this yet but I'll bet it will be good. As for the water... not happen...I had to add about a 1/2 cup more. If you work the dough to much it gets tough. Put in 1/4 teaspoon salt. Used 1/2 cup shortening and 1/2 cup butter. Rolled out great and it was a little thick but, I made chicken pot pie so that will be OK. But if it was a fruit pie I'd have lots of crust left over, because I'd roll it out thinner. I would use left over pie crust for cinnammon rolls for the kids, they love those things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skowhegan, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States