Miracle Baking Powder Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Best pie crust I have ever made! It is tender and flaky and tastes like a professional made it. My second batch I made a few changes; I used one teaspoon of salt, 3 teaspoons baking powder and 8 tablespoons boiling water rather than ice water. It came out even better than the first batch. I will be making this one again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skmccormick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Randle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was AMAZINGLY easy to work with. I'm no good at making pie crusts, but gave this one a go. I mean, Miracle, right? I did everything in my food processor so I wouldn't be touching it. I wrapped it all in plastic wrap and put it in the freezer while I got my apples ready for the pie. After that, I divided the dough and rolled it out between two pieces of wax paper (so that's what it's for!). AMAZING! I peeled off the top sheet of wax paper and then up-ended it into my pie plate and peeled off the next layer. WOW! For the top I did lattice crust because it seems to work better with my fruit pies. Delicious, flakey crust. I have added it to my favorites. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
sower!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
No doubt, the BEST pie crust recipe I have ever used. Tender and flaky, great taste, easy to mix. Rolls out well. I would only point out to let it sit for a little while to warm on the counter before rolling. Nice tender crust. Thank you Rocky!! You ROCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lowery183

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This was the first time I've ever made a pie crust in my life. I used it for a chicken spinach quiche and everything came out perfectly. It was tender, flaky and didn't overwhelm the ingrediants in the quiche. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikkib

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This curst turned our awesome! I got great reviews all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
FIVE stars and I don't even LIKE pie crust - so believe me if I say this one comes out GREAT! I've made a LOT of pie crusts with various fillings (juicy berries, quiche, chicken pot, etc.) and tried numerous recipes, and everyone raves about them - but I never liked mine or anyone else's for that matter and I've eaten pies all over the US and Europe. Pie crusts were always a disappointment and not worth the calories to consume...but THIS ONE IS AWESOME!!! I made two to see if how they differed - one with butter-flavored Crisco and the other with lard and I did have to add a bit more ice water (drops at a time). As always with pie dough, I barely handled it and I also ONLY use an iced marble rolling-pin to get it thin and lovely - so that is my only "trick" but hands down - this came out incredible - flaky, tender and above all TASTY - my hubby rolled his eyes and acted like he'd died and gone to heaven with his first bite. I can't wait to try it at my next dinner party. Forget fancy desserts - I've fixed labor intensive layered and decorated concoctions before and yet everyone I've ever had over practically swoons when they see me bring a slice of "pie from scratch" to the table. They are gonna LOVE this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was the best pie crust I have ever made! It turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
i have been baking for over 40 yrs and i thought i had the perfect crust until i tried this one...awesome the best i have ever made..hubby said the crust was better than the inside pie..this will be the only way to make a pie from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glo

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I'm always a bit afraid of making pie crusts, but this one turned out spectacularly. I was making a pot pie so I skipped the sugar, but it was soft, flaky and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States