Miracle Baking Powder Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Meh...this crust was okay. I used 1/2 c lard and 1/2 c butter instead of shortening. The flavor was pretty good, but mine wasn't all that flaky. Not sure if my changes were the problem, but I won't try again anyway. Think I'll stick with my trusty old recipe for now. Not bad, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEELEE6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Warman, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Best pie crust I have ever made! It is tender and flaky and tastes like a professional made it. My second batch I made a few changes; I used one teaspoon of salt, 3 teaspoons baking powder and 8 tablespoons boiling water rather than ice water. It came out even better than the first batch. I will be making this one again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skmccormick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Randle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was AMAZINGLY easy to work with. I'm no good at making pie crusts, but gave this one a go. I mean, Miracle, right? I did everything in my food processor so I wouldn't be touching it. I wrapped it all in plastic wrap and put it in the freezer while I got my apples ready for the pie. After that, I divided the dough and rolled it out between two pieces of wax paper (so that's what it's for!). AMAZING! I peeled off the top sheet of wax paper and then up-ended it into my pie plate and peeled off the next layer. WOW! For the top I did lattice crust because it seems to work better with my fruit pies. Delicious, flakey crust. I have added it to my favorites. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Campbell Aley

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
sower!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
No doubt, the BEST pie crust recipe I have ever used. Tender and flaky, great taste, easy to mix. Rolls out well. I would only point out to let it sit for a little while to warm on the counter before rolling. Nice tender crust. Thank you Rocky!! You ROCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lowery183

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This was the first time I've ever made a pie crust in my life. I used it for a chicken spinach quiche and everything came out perfectly. It was tender, flaky and didn't overwhelm the ingrediants in the quiche. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikkib

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This curst turned our awesome! I got great reviews all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
FIVE stars and I don't even LIKE pie crust - so believe me if I say this one comes out GREAT! I've made a LOT of pie crusts with various fillings (juicy berries, quiche, chicken pot, etc.) and tried numerous recipes, and everyone raves about them - but I never liked mine or anyone else's for that matter and I've eaten pies all over the US and Europe. Pie crusts were always a disappointment and not worth the calories to consume...but THIS ONE IS AWESOME!!! I made two to see if how they differed - one with butter-flavored Crisco and the other with lard and I did have to add a bit more ice water (drops at a time). As always with pie dough, I barely handled it and I also ONLY use an iced marble rolling-pin to get it thin and lovely - so that is my only "trick" but hands down - this came out incredible - flaky, tender and above all TASTY - my hubby rolled his eyes and acted like he'd died and gone to heaven with his first bite. I can't wait to try it at my next dinner party. Forget fancy desserts - I've fixed labor intensive layered and decorated concoctions before and yet everyone I've ever had over practically swoons when they see me bring a slice of "pie from scratch" to the table. They are gonna LOVE this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was the best pie crust I have ever made! It turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
i have been baking for over 40 yrs and i thought i had the perfect crust until i tried this one...awesome the best i have ever made..hubby said the crust was better than the inside pie..this will be the only way to make a pie from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glo

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States