Miracle Baking Powder Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by klberl
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Amazing! I'm a professional chef and I've never tried adding water to a portion of flour before mixing it in, but WOW did it make a difference. This is easily the flakiest, most tender pie crust I've ever tasted. Not to mention the easiest to work with. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Tastes great using half butter, half shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denitomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I can't believe how EASY this is! I can cook anything but pastry is not my thing. It never turns out until now. I was sure I messed it up when I turned the flour/water into the butter/flour but WOW it was so perfect after 1hr in the freezer. Soft, easy to roll out. Puffing up in my oven right now. THANK YOU for letting me be a pie princess!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPH Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I've stopped buying pie crust from the store and have used this recipe exclusively. For my needs, this recipe yields 2 pie crusts so the other half of the dough is stored in the freezer until I need it. It's easiest if you roll this dough out between two sheets of Saran Wrap and leave one layer of the wrap on to help you place it within the pie tin before removing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Descolada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I couldn't have been more please with a pie crust. It was good for my cream pies, and the peach cobbler I made for friends. You may need to use more water. Flour/water mixture should be Smooth. Simply Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Wellllll...This was easy to make, certainly. I used half butter/half lard as was suggested by many other reviewers, but the crust didn't come out flaky at all -- it came out very hard, and tasted remarkably like saltines. My roommate remarked that it "wasn't bad" and it was certainly -edible- albeit not tasty -- thus the 3star rating, but it's not something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Excelent as it is =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **Jude**

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chihuahua, Chihuahua, Mexico
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Awesome recipe!! I have NEVER been good at pie crusts and just resolved myself to not being able to ever do it. Then I found this recipe. All I did different was to omit the sugar, our family tries to avoid it, and I had to put a little more water. THANK YOU for submitting the recipe! I was finally successful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Meh...this crust was okay. I used 1/2 c lard and 1/2 c butter instead of shortening. The flavor was pretty good, but mine wasn't all that flaky. Not sure if my changes were the problem, but I won't try again anyway. Think I'll stick with my trusty old recipe for now. Not bad, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEELEE6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Warman, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States