Miracle Baking Powder Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Made a double batch today - what an excellent pastry. As I was about to add in 2 c.shortening I realized I had only 1/3 c. in the cupboard - so I used that and enough margarine to get 1c. plus 1 c. butter. I reduced the salt to 1 tsp for the entire double batch. Following the comments of some of the reviewers, I upped the quantity of water to a little over 1 cup for the double batch. I didn't want to have to add it in later and have to work the dough that much more. The result was a lovely, beautifully browned, flaky pastry. It was really nice to work with. This may well be the only pastry recipe I use for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I have made this recipe several times and it always comes out perfect. I am not real good at pastry and have tried several times to make pie crust using other recipes and they were always tough. I have to save clean up time rolled crust out between two pieces of plastic wrap it also make handling crust a bit easier. thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Thank you so much! Up to now, I have despised making pie crust. This one is amazing, easy to work with and tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Q

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is my first time making pie crust from scratch.Im going to use it to make my mini pumpkin pies so i made a test batch to see if i would be able to do it all right and it came out great and tasted great also. Now i'm really excited to cook my pies for thanksgiving. Thanks Rocky for an amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This was an excellent tasting crust with good tender texture. It was easy to assemble. I did not find it that easy to handle and my lattice crust came out "not quite so pretty" but it was very tasty! I also used 1/2 butter for the shortening. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I originally gave this 2 stars and a bad review. I tasted a piece of crust that had fallen off after baking and it was awful. After eating both the crust & filling together, I have concluded that this IS a suitable crust and very tasty. I still do not like the taste of the browned edges, but the crust under the filling is very, very good. I still prefer an all butter crust, but this is a good recipe to go to if you don't have any butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Loved this! For years I have used the same recipe for pie crust, and for years every time I've made a pie I would get so frustrated with the crust that I swore I would never make it again. I though pie crust was just supposed to be difficult to make--then I found this gem. Made a double batch in the food processor for potpies and chocolate pudding pies and I will never go back! So easy to work with! Perfect tender, flaky texture, amazing taste, I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Russell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This is the best an easiest pie crust I have ever made. I used it for a checke pot pie and it was great. I will never use another recipe. Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Stephens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I did not like the taste at all. Not for me-sorry.I felt that it broke into way too many pieces when I attempted to cut a slice. I used this for pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is amazing. I've never liked homemade pie crust but this turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Beall Mercer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States