Minute Tomato Soup with Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This got a 4 because it was so easy, but I did have to make modifications to this recipe. I altered the recipe to my own tastes/servings as follows: 1 10 0z can tomato soup 1 14 oz can diced tomatoes 1 1/2 soup cans of chicken broth *kept seasonings same but added garlic powder and onion powder* 1/2 pkg cheese tortellini this was so good. chicken broth i think makes a difference - also using tomatoes in it gives it more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
We loved it.. but, I think where it calls for a tablespoon it meant a teaspoon.. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
This was a very good soup. I'm not much of a tomato soup eater but, this didn't taste anything like I was expecting. It was more of an italian tasting soup with all of the spices that you put in. My fiance & I topped this off with some grated parmesean cheese and it was a very nice addition. Very yummy & super quick & easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LES09

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
I thoroughly enjoy this soup and make it often! I use the dry tortellini by Barilla which is inexpensive, tasty and doesn't expire quickly like the refrigerated kind. I have had better luck boiling the tortellini as directed on the package and then adding it to the soup when it's cooked. I also enjoy it with some fresh grated cheese on top. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
This was one of the fastest, easiest and tastiest recipies I've used in a while. If the tortellini isn't left in for too long, it tastes wonderful. If you aren't big on spices, it also tastes fine without. I cooked this for about 35 people in my hall for lunch and everyone loved it, and someone else made it another day too. I highly reccommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
This is now my favorite thing to cook. My mom asks me to cook this about once a month. It's quickly become "my signature dish." Thanks so much! I refer everyone to this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
The kids loved this! It was very easy and actually pretty good. I used dried tortellini and boiled it in water for about 8 minutes before adding to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
This recipe is delicious and freezes well. The spices really make it taste homemade. I used Barilla tortelloni, which I'm not hot about - I love Buitoni Mushrooms and Cheese Tortelloni and will try that next time instead. I also cooked the tortellini separately then added it in afterwards. I have a sneaking suspicion that if you use some chicken broth instead of water, that this could totally taste homemade. But everything worked well. I put everything into single serving containers then froze it for later. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Great soup and easy! I did make some changes though. I used a family size can of tomato soup plus a can of Campbell's Pepper Jack soup. Instead of water I used a can of Beef Broth and milk. I used 1 t. each of the oregano, basil, and parsley which I thought was plenty. I also added a can of diced tomatoes, extra tortellini, & about 1/2 C. grated parmesan. The Pepper Jack soup made it a bit spicy but just right for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2001
Thanks for a great idea. Instead of making a soup, I used only one can of soup and prepared it with half and half. I added garlic powder, basil and pepper. When it was done, I tossed in a large handful of freshly grated parmesan. Result...no fuss or bother tomato-fredo sauce. Not gourmet, but it was a nice side dish for a weekday family dinner. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States