Minute Chocolate Mug Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I was craving something sweet but didn't want to make something time-consuming. This was simple to make and took 5 minutes (did it on a commercial break). I followed the directions except I used white chocolate chips instead of the semisweet minis and walnuts instead of almonds b/c that's all I had. I really wish I had the minis, because the large choco chips sunk right to the bottom and stuck to the mug! This cake is chocolatey without being too sweet or rich and the milk added a nice creamy taste. However, next time, I will use 2 or 2.5 T of milk, because I had just a bit too much liquid. The cake formed, but there was a little "chocolate milk" liquid around it. (Microwaved mine for just over a minute because I just used one larger mug rather than a few smaller ones.) I'll probably make this again as it's a great cake to randomly make for 1-2 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Love it. I end up making it without the egg, just because I'm that lazy sometimes. I also throw in chopped nuts on occasion. I replace the oil with unsweetened applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
i did this and it was amazing i loved it it was so good i will mack this my late night suger or cocolat craving go to recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michael porter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
We made this with some friends and it was amazing!! We even made it gluten free like half the people were allergic to wheat and it was soooo good! The last thing anyone would expect was to make cake in a microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Loved this! Made it with my five year old as a quick fix when she requested chocolate cake. It was easy enough for her to make herself! I also subbed the milk with coffee mate 'Abuelita chocolate' creamer which gave this a great Mexican chocolate taste. My only issue was that it took longer than 45 seconds to cook, more like 1 min & 15s...although that may have been my error since I eyeballed my proportions and also used baking choc. In bar form. The baking choc turned out to be a happy accident though, because the extra choc sank to the bottom making it's own ganache. My daughter was thrilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I just blew my husband's mind. Thank you Chef John! I used 2 tablespoons of regular size semi sweet chips and cooked for 40 seconds in my microwave as it cooks hot. I didn't have ice cream, but I had one weight watchers variety of snickers ice cream bar so I cut it in half and threw that on top. I wouldn't like it without the ice cream, it needs that melty ice cream goodness. Just perfect for that sweet tooth craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I made this gluten free and it was to die for! I used wholesome chow gluten free, high protein pancake mix for the flour and used coconut sugar instead of granulated sugar. I cooked 45 seconds like the recipe says. It may look undercooked but after letting it rest it was perfect. Moist, chocolatey and addictive! I will use more chocolate chips next time. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Chef jonh,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Unfortunately this didn't rise in the mug whatsoever-which is a shame because the actual mixture doesn't taste so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I loved it! It was slightly spongy, but it's probably cos I cool
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States