Minty Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This salad is amazing. The only thing it lacks is salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Good, solid recipe. IMHO, it only needs about half the oil and double (or even triple) the orange zest. (It really depends on your tastes; I like my salads zing-y.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I gave this one 3 stars but can make it 5 with a few adjustments. First double all the ingredients because even after doing so, I had to keep stirring the mixture to make sure all of it soaked well. Next I added 1 ts pink sea salt, 1/2ts fresh ground pepper, 1 ts lemon juice and a dash of dry white wine. The longer it sits the stronger the minty flavor comes through. Thanks for a great basic recipe, this is a great change for gardeners who are overwelmed with both cucs and mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
We loved this light, refreshing salad! The subtle mint and orange flavors are perfect with the cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I picked this recipe as something completely different for us to try...I have never made anything with mint before. So, we were not really fans of this salad, but that is not a fault of the recipe, I just don't think we enjoy these flavours together. I did swap out the red wine vinegar for white balsamic as I felt they paired together better, but regardless, I will not be making this one again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Very refreshing and different. I loved how the fresh citrusy mint married with the crisp cucumbers. I thought white balsamic vinegar would be better suited for the dressing though, and I added a tablespoon of unsweetened orange juice concentrate to up the level of citrus flavor. I also just sliced the cucumbers, which is a personal preference. I would perhaps let the cucumbers chill in the dressing a while before serving. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I'm sort of on the fence with this salad. I thought I'd taste more vinegar, or more mint. Or something . . .but it really wasn't there for me. It tasted fine, just nothing really popped out in flavor for me--just tasted like enhanced cucumbers to me. I didn't even bother trying to get bf to try (he turns his nose up at anything with that much vinegar in it), so I ate it myself. I certainly ate it all by myself and didn't throw it out, but I'm not sure I'd make this one again--I'm not sure what would make me like it better. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This recipe is only okay. I'd look for a different one for my next picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Yum! I used baby cucumbers so decided not to peel and seed them. Pretty and tasty, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States