Mint Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
It's so surprising that a sauce that difficult to find store-bought is so easy to make at home! Thanks a million for sharing, I will never scour the aisles for ready-made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fleur de lys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
My mom is from England and she has made mint sauce for years. Mint sauce is about the mint not the vinegar... In a sauce pan take a fist full of fresh mint leaves that have been coarsely chopped and place them in the pan with 2 cups of simmering water. Let it simmer on med.low heat for 15 min. then add two level table spoons of white sugar and mix till dissolved; then add three table spoons of apple cider vinegar and simmer for a few more min. Taste to see if you would like more sweet or tart and add some more sugar or vinegar to your liking. The true English Style Mint Sauce has more mint flavor and less tartness. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Too tart for me even with 2 tsp sugar added. I used red wine vinegar, but next time I'll try the British standard malt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This was really not what I remember as mint sauce. Extremely tart even with sugar added. My quest goes on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swansea, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This is the mint sauce I have been looking for, for a long time. It was perfect with the roasted rack of lamb. I did add a good amount of sugar. It turned out perfect. I will use this a lot now. Thank you for putting it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I mixed cider and red wine vinegars for this one, and I also added between 1/2 and 3/4 of a tsp of sugar to help cut the tartness. It tastes just like I remember it did back when lamb with mint sauce was served for our school dinners in England in the mid-80s.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Definitely way too tart as is and also very runny. I added another tbsp of mint and about a tsp of sugar. With these changes was much more like what I remember my step mum making when I was a child. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I added quite a bit of sugar as it was way too tart for me as well, but it turned out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMJA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flensburg, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Living In: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Way too tart. Definitely stir in a little white sugar bit by bit until it is how you like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Chimichurri Sauce

See how to make the famous parsley sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States