Mint Juleps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This is great. You can make up the syrup for several drinks and store it in the fridge. I was able to have a mint julep a day for more than a week's time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
From a former Louisvillian, JUST FABULOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Aaaaah! Perfect! I've made this recipe and I've also made Basil Juleps which were a HUGE hit w/ our mint julep crowd. I just substituted fresh basil (1 cup) for mint and followed the recipe. Yum! Perfect to cool off on a hot day down by the "rivah"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessiGuest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I did not care for this. I will stick to using my fresh mint in ice tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wallkill Panther Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
It was our first real (aka alcoholic) mint julep, and this definitely is meant for someone with way more alcohol tolerance than me and my husband. We ended up mixing 1 oz. bourbon with 1 oz. syrup over ice, and then we liked it. I'm sure we'll make it again as we have lots of mint growing out back, and summer's just begun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This is a good one! Perfect recipe. My wife and I made this tonight and sat on the front porch to enjoy our creation. We used fresh mint leaves from our mint plant (be sure to keep it planted in a pot otherwise it'll take over your garden). It was delicious. Perfect summer night/day/anytime drink! Refreshing and tasty. Oh and we didn't wait the hour for it to cool, we just added more ice. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. Plus you can make it for a crowd....wonderful. Be sure to use crushed ice....takes some of the sweetness away. I only made a 1/2 recipe because I didn't want to waste my bourbon if I didn't like it. WELL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrontierCook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I had never had a mint julep before. It was good but too sweet for my taste. Even with less syrup, it is still really sweet. I gave it 5 stars because this is a good recipe and if you like sweet drinks, you will love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I like to take the syrup and add it to my tea! Makes a nice refreshing southern drink - especially in the evenings when I'm sitting with family chatting about our day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
In a pinch, this method of making the syrup will do, but I've found it's much better if you can only bruise the mint leaves (rather than chopping them)--they're much easier to remove from the syrup, and the flavor still infuses well. Also, the mint is a bit better if you can let the syrup rest overnight with the mint in it (covered in the fridge).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
327 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mint Juleps

An icy cold bourbon cocktail with fresh mint and mounds of crushed ice.

Mint Julep Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix up a classic Mint Julep.

Peaches 'N Mint Juice

This refreshing juice stars peaches, apples, lime, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States