Mint Juleps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This is so good. The fresh mint really makes it great. Very sweet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
PERRRRRRRFECT. It's become a favorite among my friends and I and it's quite easy to make. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
These were the rave at our Kentucky Derby Party! I probably added a little more of the simple sugar to each drink... but loved them! Thanks for sharing. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
I have never tried a Mint Julep previously, but this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Not so good...but I think I just don't like bourbon, so I don't think I can fault the recipe for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
This recipe is great, even my grandmother, who doesn't like hard liquor very much, enojyed the mint julep I made for her. I also like experimenting with different types of sugar, such as "Sugar in the Raw", for a varied taste. Another hint I like is to garnish with some powdered sugar. It makes it look lovely, and also gives it some extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Decided to start on my Derby celebrations a little early this year, and found this recipe. Lovely! So much easier than mixing each julep by hand. I plan on keeping the mint syrup around - it will be good in iced tea, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan in Dallas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I'm not sure if I'm fairly rating this recipe because it may well be fantastic considering what it's supposed to be but....wowsa was this strong!!! No matter how much I tried to dilute it, I kept flashing back to my college days. I just couldn't drink this, nor could my husband who has a WAY WAY higher tolerance than me for alcohol. Too strong!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
In a pinch, this method of making the syrup will do, but I've found it's much better if you can only bruise the mint leaves (rather than chopping them)--they're much easier to remove from the syrup, and the flavor still infuses well. Also, the mint is a bit better if you can let the syrup rest overnight with the mint in it (covered in the fridge).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I like to take the syrup and add it to my tea! Makes a nice refreshing southern drink - especially in the evenings when I'm sitting with family chatting about our day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mint Juleps

An icy cold bourbon cocktail with fresh mint and mounds of crushed ice.

Mint Julep Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix up a classic Mint Julep.

Peaches 'N Mint Juice

This refreshing juice stars peaches, apples, lime, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States