Mint Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Very good recipe. IF this is your first attempt at jelly making make sure you read the directions like 3x before you even pull out jars. When this recipe says to strain 1 2/3 cup of mint, it means the juice not the leaves, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
347 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
Having been a novice at this jelly making business, I misread the instructions regarding the pectin amount. It calls for 1/2 (6 oz.) of pectin. I put in 6 oz.instead of the implied 3 oz. Why not just say 3 oz.s???? Pectin comes in 2-3oz. packages. Needless say mine did not setup. Now to start over again with the Certo recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
As this was my first attempt of "jelly making" I found the recipe easy to follow, but the end product to be on the sweet side. Maybe 2 cups of sugar should be used or 3 1/2 tablespoon of lemon juice. The choice is yours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
As a first time maker of mint jelly, I was very pleased to find that this recipe was quick, simple, and made delicious jelly. I used 3oz of pectin and had no problems with it setting. My only suggestion is that if you use Scotch Mint you may want to use a few more drops of dye--I found that 3 were just enough to turn it from brownish-yellow to a nice shade of pale green. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This recipe was so easy and came out perfect! I followed the recipe just as it says and had great results. Looks beautiful in the jars. Will make wonderful additions to my Christmas gift baskets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Krebs-Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Custar, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milton Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
First kick at the "Jelly" can and it turned out great. I got a little experimental on the second batch and used pineapple juice instead of water. It is a nice compliment to the mint (especially since I used pineapple mint) and works great if using the jelly as either a condiment on pork/chicken/lamb or as a spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Yummy! This is just about the same recipe as they have at the National Center for Home Food Preservation. I cut the sugar down a little so it wasn't too sweet. Yes, do make sure you have ALL your "ducks in a row" before you start heating anything - plan ahead. BONUS: Since 2 Tbsp. of lemon juice was just about one lemon, there was a little leftover. There was leftover mint juice, too - so I added the mint juice and lemon juice to a pot of iced green tea I had made. Delish! Mint-mania at our house. Between the jelly & the tea, I knew something good would come out of our surprise mint patch (our mower broke and the lawn was HIDEOUSLY overgrown!) When life breaks your mower, make mint jelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I tried this recipe yesterday.I grow my own mint, went out and cut it, washed it and folowed the drections tothe letter. It did not set up as it should have. It i a bit on the runny side. I dumped it. I have no idea what happened. Mommacat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Very easy to make. Set real nice. Loved it in filling for cookies. Made another batch with pineapple mint and used pinapple juice instead of water that was a delite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Recipie was easy to make and understand. I used chocolate mint leaves instead of regular mint leaves. The flavor was different than any other jellies I've had. I'd recommend not using exotic mint plants if you make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Grilled Lamb with Mint Orange Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb chops with a minty orange marmalade sauce.

Peaches 'N Mint Juice

This refreshing juice stars peaches, apples, lime, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States