Mint Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Be sure to use liquid pectin. I've used this recipe several times and it has always turned out great, except for the time I used Ball Classic pectin instead of the Certo liquid I usually use. The batch with the Ball not only didn't gel properly (more like a thick syrup than jelly), it had a nasty looking brown residue in the bottom. I contacted Ball about this and they're not surprised, even though there is nothing on the jar to indicate not to use it in mint jelly. Just thought I'd put a warning so others don't make the same mistake. Happy canning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I decided that since I had an abundance of mint in my garden it might be a good chance to see if I could make this. Recipe was very simple, not hard to follow, and turned out great. Only thing I did a little different was to add more green food coloring . The first batch was kind of pale, but did not affect the flavor. Very happy and will be making more this year since half of my stash was used for Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I started making this recipe but I felt that steeping the mint for only 10 minutes did not yield a minty enough base to my taste buds. I ended up steeping for about an hour. I also omitted the food coloring, why add artificial dyes to a dish that is beautiful just the way it is? My main complaint is that the author forgot to include how much head-space to leave when filling the jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
My first attempt at jelly making, and it turned out excellent! I doubled the recipe as I had an abundance of mint on hand, and it doubled well. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Easy recipe and tastes lovely. I omitted the green food coloring in case any of my potential guests have allergies to the dye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Ok although I have no idea what to do with them except give them away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
The first time I tried this recipe, I reduced the sugar because of some of the comments I read, the jelly was too sweet. However, the jelly never set right. The second time I tried it, I followed the recipe it to a T. At the end, my jelly was still really runny. Disappointed, I talked to a friend of mine who's mother makes jelly all the time. She told me to wait a few days before I throw it out because sometimes it takes that to congeal. I am glad I waited. I had four beautiful bottles of jelly. And, I made one more batch! BTW, I kept my runny jelly and use it as syrup for tea or on pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This is a great recipe. I don't strain the mint. I finely chop the mint and just leave it in. I love it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This recipe worked as written, no problems. The instructions were clear. For me, in Canada, I needed 85 ml of pectin (the metric conversion gives 85 g which is how some suppliers label theirs). This will yield 11-12 125 ml jars. I use 3 drops of colouring just to get a little more punch to the green. The flavour is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
easy to make-I didn't use the food coloring, it just looks too fake, the natural color was a pale yellowish. What a great way to use up all of the spearmint in my herb garden. Making a second batch tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Grilled Lamb with Mint Orange Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb chops with a minty orange marmalade sauce.

Peaches 'N Mint Juice

This refreshing juice stars peaches, apples, lime, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States