Mint Ice Cubes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
good for what it is. great in a glass of lemonade and a nice way to use up my garden mint
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
These are so much fun to toss in a drink! I have a mint plant growing or shall I say taking over my yard and I was trying to find some things to do with it. These were awesome in my iced tea and I can't wait to serve them to friends when they stop by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Great idea. Super cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
What a great idea, I've been doing this all summer to use up all my wild mint growing in the garden...just love the flavor in my glass of iced tea. If you're doing this to serve guest you'll need to remove the mint leaf once cooled because it turns a yucky green color and replace with a nice new leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Beautiful! I've put berries in ice cubes before, but never thought to use mint. To make it even more perfect, I used the recipe (really a tip) "Ice for Cocktails," also from this site. I also didn't use hot water...I didn't like the idea of it "cooking" the mint. (I had visions of it looking like seaweed within an ice cube) Ideal use of mint for me because other than using it as a garnish for desserts, I use it for nothing else and it always seemed like kind of a waste. I used this for just plain water with dinner and I know I'll appreciate them even more with summer beverages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
These were neat. Hubby gave me that "Chick, you crazy?" look when I was making them, but he loved them in his lemonade! Score one for Skuba. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These are very minty ice cubes! We have an ice maker in our freezer, and I think I got rid of all of our ice cube trays at some point. I could only find a tiny ice cube tray that goes in the mini fridge in the basement. So, I only made 14 mini ice cubes. Since they were small, I used 1 mint leaf per cube. My mint didn't turn that dark like others--perhaps because I have chocolate mint, which is darker in the first place. These were so easy and went along well with the Sun Brewed Mint Tea we made as well. I think I may do this with savory herbs like rosemary and freeze with chicken broth for recipes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I do ice cubes of many herbs, the hot water releases the oils in the plants, replacing the darkened, spent herbs with fresh after cooling is preferable. Just pop out the frozen cubes into labeled freezer bags and you are ready for many uses, from drinks to stews and everything in between.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was a great idea... I just put cold water in my trays since I didn't want wilted mint; I just tried one in a cup of tea and it was nice!... Thanks for a great way to use up this mint (hubby bought by accident) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
These were easy, and very refreshing! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geranium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Grilled Lamb with Mint Orange Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb chops with a minty orange marmalade sauce.

Peaches 'N Mint Juice

This refreshing juice stars peaches, apples, lime, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States