Mint Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I made half a recipe and used a Jiffy brownie mix for the cake part, which I baked in an 8-inch square pan. They came out great. I used the exact amount of mint extract as called for. If you use too much mint extract, stuff tastes like mouthwash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Almost exactly like my mom's! She uses mint extract instead of peppermint. I like hers more, but it's not a huge difference. Also, I doubled the frosting. I like a nice thick frosting layer. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This was really good! So easy and everyone loved it. It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This cake was a huge hit at our family birthday get-together, dubbed the York Peppermint Patty cake. I followed the recipe w/ advice from several reviews, except that I made the cake from scratch (Perfectly Chocolate) then for grins & giggles, tossed about a cup of mini chips/ andes mint chips into the cake mix then baked in 2 layer pans. I also increased the creme de mint extract, definitely freeze before frosting w/ green, then again before coating w/ chocolate. It was both delicious & a gorgeous presentation. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made cupcakes with this recipe. I doubled the frosting recipe because I had tons of cupcakes to frost. Instead of mint flavoring, I used a tiny touch of mint oil and added 1 Tbsp of Creme de Menthe for light flavor. It had no food coloring and tasted great! Thanks for this recipe. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Very easy, made it for my husband's potluck at work and was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by outline
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I modified this recipe so much, but I think it still counts hahaha. In summary, I made Andres mint cupcakes with "too much chocolate" cake and Andres mints instead of plain chocolate in both cake and topping, side-stepping the peppermint extract dosage issues. The Andres mints within the cake add nice green mint speckles too. First I used the Too Much Chocolate box cake version using fat free sour cream, 2 whole eggs and 2 egg whites to cut down the richness a bit, and Most Importantly I used chopped Andres mints instead of chocolate chips. Picture posted. After baking, I cooled them. I was short on time, so I totally skipped the frosting, though I think that could add festivity for sure. Because I went straight to topping, non-frozen was fine. I substituted the milk choc chips for Andres mints again, side-stepping the entire peppermint extract business. On top of the chocolate shell I added some chopped Andres mints for decoration. My audience was easy: a houseful of college frat boys, but everyone loved them including myself :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outline

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
EXCELLENT!! I used Duncan Hines devils food cake for the cake part. I did double the mint extract and used milk rather than water for the mint layer. I think that I added a bit too much powdered sugar ( I didnt measure it) and so I ended up ading an additional tbsp of milk. The frosting was nice and fluffy and not dificult at all to spread. I also chilled mine in the fridge for about 2 hours before frosting. Also important I think to chill again after the mint and before the chocolate so that the chocolate topping doesnt melt the mint frosting. Chill for a few hours and serve. SOOO YUMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Always a hit at my parties. Great mint flavor that goes with the chocolate so well. I would recomend this cake to anyone as a must try.Gary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary Kindell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This cake was delicious! I took the suggestion of others and added a little more mint extract than the recipe called for and it was perfect. Because the cake is rich, it lasted for days and days (most cakes are gone within 24 hours in our house). I'm making it for an upcoming party and I have no doubt it will be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States