Mint Buttercream Frosting With Dark Chocolate Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I have made a recipe similar to this one for many years, but I have not made this one...so these are just some suggestions. The milk is not necessary. Use real butter only. Add the mint extract a little bit at a time until it is to your liking, as it can be very strong. I don't use unsweetened chocolate for the glaze. Milk chocolate works well. Don't forget the green food coloring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I'm sorry but I really thought the frosting tasted like toothpaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
this is a good start to a great frosting. It was a little too crunchy for my tastes so I added extra milk and vanilla pudding (because that's all I had on hand) to make it creamier. Next time I would probably use whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie D.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misserin13
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
As others noted, the mint frosting is very sweet but is well-cut by the chocolate glaze. I was not pleased with the consistency of the frosting - I sifted my powdered sugar but the frosting is separating a bit, definitely more fluffy than creamy. I tried pouring the glaze over frosting piped on cupcakes. Luckily, they are for a Halloween potluck, so the melting, Joker-esque, toxic waste look is a win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misserin13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
The chocolate glaze was VERY bitter on it's own but tasted alright in small quantities on the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Steph

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
DELICIOUSNESS. In the spririt of full disclosure, I didn't make the glaze because I loved the frosting enough on its own, and the mixed reviews on it made me a little wary. Also, I had a lot left over after icing my (Too Much Chocolate) cake, so I went a little overboard on decorating the cake. I didn't think it was too sweet at all, but my sweet tooth is still as legendary as it was when I was six and would have had an all-sugar diet had it been permissable. I started scooping up the leftovers and eating them straight (not such a good idea; the mint started to do a tap-dance on my tastebuds, but oh well). It looks lovely (colored it yellow because I was out of all the other colors), both spreads and pipes like a dream. HOWEVER, it did almost give me a heart attack when it jammed my beater right after I added the milk. This icing means business. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Yum! Makes a nice fluffy frosting with a strong minty flavor. The glaze does cut the sweetness and it's a real "Wow" factor as far as presentation goes! This is a fav with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This was great on the "Too much Chocolate, Chocolate Cake"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KeiJoy
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
It was very good. Very sweet, so the bitter chocolate went well. I actually used bittersweet chocolate. I also added a few tablespoons of white sugar to the chocolate glaze. It was little grainy, so next time I will add the sugar earlier. I baked a dark chocolate cake, and layered with a little of the mint frosting, and some chocolate mint cookies. Then made the frosting a pale green, frosted the whole cake, and poured the glaze over it. It was beautiful. Next time I want to try mint patties in the layers (yum). :cD Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I used this frosting to top some chocolate fudge, it was great. The fudge was in an 8 by 8 pan so I cut the recipe down to 3 cups sugar, 6 T. butter a pinch of salt 1/2 teaspoon peppermint extract and about 1.5 tablespoons milk. The frosting was perfect for the fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States