Mint Buttercream Frosting With Dark Chocolate Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by u62philo
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I did not make the glaze. I made this for a mint chocolate chip cake. I had to tinker with this a lot, but I always do with homemade frosting. I taste it, add something, taste it again, add something, etc. This is great to start with but you may find you need more mint, then more sugar, then more milk. Also, I'm rating this a 5 based on my boyfriend's and friends' reactions, as I do not like chocolate and mint together. Everyone else loved it and gobbled it down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by u62philo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mercer, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
0 for the glaze. The frosting taste was pretty good. The consistency was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I didn't make the glaze, just the frosting, but it was still amazing! I actually used 5 tablespoons of milk instead of 4 because it seemed too thick with just 4. I also only used 1/2 a teaspoon of mint extract and it tasted perfect! I will most definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Definitely good! I did add a bit of extra extract, as I wanted a bit more mint taste and was putting this as a filling between two chocolate cookies! :) Thanks for the recipe, will def use again! :) One more note, I did not do the chocolate glaze part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaydell33
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
The mint buttercream is simple and good. I used salted butter and omitted the 1/8 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I made just the frosting, not the glaze to go on some cupcakes I made. I thought the flavor was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was totally worth making again, except I found it to be a little bit too sweet, but the perfect minty-ness. I used it on chocolate devil cake without the glaze, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovestheSky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This was SO GOOD! I followed the recipe exactly, only made the frosting, didn't need the glaze. The mint was not too strong and didn't overpower the flavor. Don't add anymore or it might be too intense! Made the frosting to cover the One Bowl Chocolate Cake III from this site. The flavors went together perfectly and everybody that tasted it LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I thought this was a great simple buttercream. I made a decadent chocolate (flourless)cake since I am getting ready for Passover and wanted something different for the frosting. I had been on a ganache kick lately so it was a nice change. I didn't have mint extract but I had some Ovation Chocolate Mint Candies. I put these through the mini processor to crumble them up and they made a great addition to the recipe. Also added the green food coloring and with the chocolate specks from the candies it was a perfect combination. Since I used the candies, I omitted the glaze. Only use real butter when baking. I sprinkled some green sugar on top to make it festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treehuggr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hernando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I was looking for a mint chocolate chip frosting recipe and this was pretty good. I omitted the chocolate glaze and the mini semi chocolate chips were a perfect balance. Like others, I used butter and halved the mint extract. I also tried another reviewer's suggestion to omit the milk, which didn't work for me, so I added that back in and it was fine. Waited to add mini chips until the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama

Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States