Minnesota's Favorite Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Three & A Half Stars... Texturally perfect cookies, but they're soooo sweet. I did use Butter Flavor Crisco, and only half a cup of the pecans (DH is not a fan of nuts). I'm gonna try these again, but cut the brown sugar by at least 1/2 a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I kind of made these a 'garbage' cookie. I had some left over white, butterscotch and chocolate chips that needed to be used up. So I used those with the toffee bits. They baked up nicely and I was left with a chewy chocolatey cookie. I made a coupple into a homemade ice cream sandwich and it was 5 stars that way! Otherwise, I think maybe some oats in them would be good, and maybe a touch more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
These were good but not fantastic, hence 4 stars. I would put more toffee bits next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
These cookies are delicious! I didn't have many of the 'extras' around the house, so I made these with just chocolate chips and chopped almonds. Yummy. They stayed nice and fluffy, even in my high-altitude CO kitchen! ...Plus, I'm more than a little proud that these hail from my home state:-). From now on I'm including these along with 'hotdishes' in listing MN recipes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I was looking for a cookie recipe which didn't have a need for Baking SODA (which my bf who I love had ruined by letting a soda can explode in the freezer...) HAHAHA I LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe... The cookies turned out really well - I had to flatten them a little but they baked well, and I also had to drop the cook time slightly to 9-10 mins ( I think my oven is hot). I used parchment paper, and it was a dream to clean up. Reccomend this recipe to anyone :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I had high hopes for these, they sounded so good! My cookies didn't flatten hardly at all. I'll probably try the chip/nut combo again but just using my regular chocolate chip cookie recipe (Tollhouse).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
These cookies are fantastic! I made the recipe just as posted and the taste is great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
The title of these caught my eye, and I'm glad they did. These are wonderful! I've never used toffee bits in cookies before, and they are delicious. I followed the recipe exactly (except I did not use pecans) and they turned out great. I also used parchment paper instead of greasing the cookie sheets. The dough was really soft so I was worried at first, but it firmed up after I added all the dough and it sat in the fridge 5-10 minutes. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I ran across this recipe while searching for a cookie that would incorporate odds and ends I had leftover after my holiday baking. I used white chocolate chips, Heath bar bits and a couple of Hershey bars that I chopped up. Like other reviewers, I used equal amounts of white and brown sugar. My kids asked me not to use nuts. I think I would have preferred them with nuts to counter balance the sweetness. I think the real key with this cookie is to underbake them slightly. I cooked them in my convection oven at 325 and really watched them. As soon as the edges began to brown every so slightly, I removed them. When cooled, they were crispy on the outside and still slightly tender in the middle. Mine spread perfectly - but I DID flatten them just a bit before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rusty's girl
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Awesome cookie! Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rusty's girl

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States