Minnesota's Favorite Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
These cookies are great - I added 1/4c extra flour because I don't like cookies that are too flat. I also drizzled melted chocolate on top to dress them up for a cookie exchange I took them to. I was able to get 5 dozen from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
These are probably the best cookies I've ever made. Like others suggested, I used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. I also used a full cup of toffee candy. They are truly incredible. My kids were literally fighting over them. Hubby wouldn't keep his paws off of them... or the dough while I was baking. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This seemed like my kind of cookie, with the addition of toffee bits. However, contrary to most other reviewers who ended up with puffy, cakey cookies (which I love!), mine turned out flat.....but very chewy, which is a good attribute for a cookie. Granted, I didn't chill the dough and probably left my butter at room temp too long. Because I didn't want that much "stuff" in these cookies, (and largely because I'm not really much of a chocolate chip cookie fan), I only added the chocolate toffee bits (since I halved the recipe, I added extra toffee bits.) I want to play around with the texture, so next time (and there will be a next time), I'll take some reviewer suggestions of using half white and brown sugars, using a smidge more baking powder, chilling the dough, and adding some mini chocolate chips to appease the husband. I'm a sucker for any recipe with a toffee addition, so thanks for this tasty submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I have never heard of this famous cookie and decided to try it. I did a half a recipe and got 34 cookies with a 1 Tblsp. cookie scoop. I thought they tasted very much like a Nestle Toll House cookie with added pecans and caramel like bits. They are a bit sweet, for my taste with the added toffee, but they did dissapear quite fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Mixed reviews again from our house. I tried one, then reserved my review until Hubs was able to try one too and offer his review, which I fully expected would be different than mine. It's an attractive enough cookie, and I appreciate that they baked up to a nice thickness - not flat, but not cakey poofs either. As I do with all cookie doughs made with butter, I chilled the dough for about an hour till it was somewhat firm. But I thought these were too soft (but then I don't care for soft cookies) - if I was to make them again I'd use half white and half brown sugar to help with that. They also had just a tad too much "stuff" in them for me - "stuff" overload. My vote is three stars, for being too soft with too much of the chips, toffee and nuts. But I figured that exactly what I DIDN'T like about these cookies would be the very things Hubs did. Sure enough - as he was chewing he held up 5 fingers (rare). He said what he liked about them was that that they were gooey (my "too much stuff") and soft. Tastes and reviews are so subjective! Four star average between the two of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Loved these cookies and a cold glass of milk with it makes it heavenly!! This is a keeper in our home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Perry, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This is the best cookie!! My husband doesn't like many cookies, but he can't keep his hands off these. I did use 1 cup of brown sugar & 1/2 cup white sugar and only milk chocolate chips. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenM
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
We loved this cookie. Who doesn't love chocolate and toffee? I did chill the dough before baking and they turned out great. This recipe makes alot of cookies. Thanks for a great alternative to a plain chocolate chip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I was so disappointed in this cookie. I am an experienced cookie baker. First, the bottom cooked way before the top. I semi-fixed this by lowering the oven temp to 340deg and cooked for 11 min, taking out when the top is still moist (I do this with all cookies). Second, there is not enough salt in this recipe. Assuming you use unsalted butter (which is the norm in recipes unless notated), 1/4 tsp is not enough. Granted, I left out the toffee bits, and that would add some saltiness, but still, I would up it to 1/2 tsp. They were just too bland. Third: texture. This was a fluffy cookie, no chewiness at all, which really disappointed me, since it is a 'brown sugar butter cookie'. I'm not sure how to fix that issue. Next time, I will make my tried and true favorite chocolate chip cookies with all brown sugar and have much better results than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Great cookie. Love the milk and semi-sweet combination as well as the addition of the toffee chips. These didn't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States