Minnesota Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Nice, warm soup on a very cold nice - this fit the bill. I didn't measure the onions, celery or carrots. I just chopped and shredded and used what I felt was a good amount. Can't really have too many veggies in this soup. I had homemade chicken stock in the freezer that I used in place of vegetable broth. I'm not sure why so many complain of it being too thick with 1 cup flour. Once I added the broth, it thicken nicely and with 2 additional cups of half and half, it was a very nice consistency. I thought I had half and half and it wasn't, it was heavy cream. I used 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup skim milk in place of the half and half. Served 'Herb Buttermilk Biscuits' from AR with the soup and we enjoyed a very nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Everyone loved this wild rice soup! would definitely make it again. only thing different was no carrots, we only had canned carrots and I couldn't bring myself to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charnelle Gill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This is a VERY tasty soup and a full meal with some bread or rolls on the side! I added ham to give it some meat and more flavor and I didn't use the spice or celery and it still turned out incredibly delicious! My husband wants to have this soup often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKTebbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
It was great. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I absolutely love Wild Rice, and this recipe really makes it shine. I was out of onions, so I used 1 shallot with the white part of some scallions - I also used high quality chicken stock (I'm not vegetarian). So many variations will work with this. In the future, I think I might add some sausage or smoked ham. Fresh corn would also work really well - and a little butter blended with the flour. A simple, delicious all-American recipe - and don't forget some nice crusty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinebeck, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I used this recipe as a base—we’re not vegetarian so there were some adjustments. I sautéed an onion and two cloves of (minced) garlic; then added a little over a cup of each sliced carrots and diced celery. I forgot about the roux, so it was made in a separate pan (3 tablespoons of butter, ¼ of flour plus a little olive oil to smooth it out—I think a cup of flour would’ve been WAY too much. Then a little chicken stock was added to thin it out) while the vegetables cooked. To the pot of veggies I added (4 cups total, including what was added to the roux) chicken stock, 3/4 Cup White Wine, 1 Cup Heavy Cream, 1 Cup Skim Milk, a (VERY) large chicken breast (cooked with some water and McCormick Garlic Pepper Grinder seasoning, then shredded), Fancy Minnesota Wild Rice (I go “home” to Minnesota for the Holidays each year and stock up on Wild Rice—I cooked the rice according to the package plus 2 Tablespoons of butter and maybe 2 teaspoons of the Garlic Pepper Grinder blend). I added the roux to the pot, gave it all a stir then added 1 Cup (sliced) Baby Bella Mushrooms plus a large (fresh) Rosemary sprig and 5-6 (fresh) sprigs of Thyme, seasoned with fresh ground sea salt and pepper (to taste)—this simmered for a half hour or so. When served, we sprinkled some (cooked, then crumbled) bacon on top. My boyfriend gobbled up two bowls (in the time I ate my one) only taking time to breathe and tell me how good it was…I say it was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mainland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very tasty! I added diced ham and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowlands, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hibbing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I love this recipe. I've made it for my CC crew multiple times to show them good Midwestern cooking and it's one of the favorites. It is hearty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
My family loves this soup, and it's very easy, so I'm giving it 5 stars. I added some different vegetables to it than what is listed, in addition to those listed. We are recently trying to eat a more vegetarian diet, and it's great to find recipes even a 2 year old loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I really liked this recipe a lot. I used milk instead of cream, added potatoes and halved the flour. I also added the flour with the broth, premixed with water to avoid chunkiness. It worked out really well. Perfect thickness and not fattening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States