Minnesota Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
I've made a few changes to the recipe and everyone loves it! I use 1 box of Uncle Ben's wild rice with the seasonings, in place of the rice and chicken bouillon, and increase the water to 2 cups. You'll have to fight for the leftovers, if there are any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
These are the best pork chops we've had in a while. I didn't use the chicken bouillon b/c I used the seasonings that came with the rice and mixed it with the water. I then poured a can of cream of mushroom soup over the rice and cooked it for 30 minutes before adding the chops since they were not very thick. I covered the chops with another can of soup and cooked them for an hour. They were soooooo tender and moist. Loved, loved, loved them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
We all enjoyed this one. However, for future uses, I am going to use a can of the pre-cooked wild rice and reduce the water used to 1 cup. My chops were done long before the rice was and rather than overcook the meat, we ate it with the rice slightly undercooked. The canned rice will prevent this and the "sauce" was a tad too thin. I'm hoping that next time, it will be much creamier. Overall, great home-cooked meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
My picky husband actually went back for seconds! Unfortunately none of the stores around here carry wild rice so I used a wild rice and long grain rice blend. I used fresh mushrooms that I sauteed with some minced garlic. I mixed the water, soup, mushrooms, and the seasoning packet from the rice togather and let that sit while I browned the chops. I baked it covered for an hour, and then uncovered for 30 minutes. The chops were fork tender, and the rice was creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
Very easy to put together - minimal amount of time required, and pretty good overall. The amount of water asked for in the recipe is excessive, and I ended up with a soup with pork chops on top. If I make it again, I will definitely use only about 1 C of water or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I scaled this down slightly to serve two, using th4e full amount of mushrooms, soup and bouillion, one cup of water, and six ounces of rice. Cooked for an hour and a half, the consistency was perfect. This was incredibly easy and yet would be great for company. My Minnesota native husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I've always had a rough time making pork chops. Tonight I figured out why. I had 3 chops that were thick cut and 3 that were thin. The thick were dry and not very good, but the thin cut chops turned out great! So...I recommend buying thin cut pork chops for the best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 307Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This was a great dish. Very easy. I made a few changes. I used Garlic salt when salting the pork chops and black pepper. I only had Uncle Ben's Chicken flavored rice in the house so I used that instead of the wild rice. I still used the chicken bouillon b/c I was afraid it would be too bland. It wasn't bland at all. I didn't think it was too salty but some might think it is. I added about 3/4 bag of frozen green beans over the canned mushrooms for color. I also used a half can of cream of chicken and mushroom soup as well as the 10.75oz. can of cr.mushroom soup. I added about 1/4c water to the soups before I poured it over the pork chops. I baked it at 350 degrees for about 1hr 45min and it turned out perfectly. My husband really enjoyed it. I'll probably be making this dish a lot. It's a really easy recipe for the working mother/wife. It reheats well also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I just recently made these and my family LOVED them! I did make a few changes. Instead of chicken bouillon, I used the seasoning to the wild rice (Uncle Ben's), I used butterfly chops and Campbell's Healthy Request Soup (low sodium). I baked them at 325 for 1 1/2 hours. Perfect - the meat was so tender! I almost think that 2 cans of soup would be ok - this will give the rice a creamier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
My husband loved this recipe! He ate it for lunch, then dinner, then lunch again - I was lucky to any at all! I doubled the recipe, except for the chops, because I wanted lots of side stuff. I used two boxes of Uncle Ben's Classic Long Grain & Wild rice and sprinkled the pouches of herbs and seasonings they came with instead of the chicken stock. I just added water until the ice was completely covered, and baked sealed with tin foil for two hours without any peeking. The rice came out perfect, and the chops were so tender YOU COULD CUT THEM WITH A FORK! The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is because it's a new twist on an old classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve Schiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States