Minnesota Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Turned out great...I added a 1/2 cup of white rice to the recipe and I think that it enhanced the flavor of the wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charcoal Griller
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe. I have never been able to follow it exactly, but my pork always comes out moist and tender. The only thing I really change is the seasoning on the chops and the wild rice. I vary the chop seasoning based on my taste for the night (sometimes Italian seasoning sometimes a packaged rub, etc.). I have never used the wild rice but always have some flavored rice packages on hand. One of the best was a parmesan cheese rice. Be careful as this can be salty if you get the combo wrong (bouillon, rice flavoring and chop seasoning). I always use boneless loin chops and have used anywhere from 4 to 6. You will not be disappointed! One more thing. I made this soon after thanksgiving so I had some "fried onions" on hand. You know the kind that go on green bean casserole. I added them with about 5 or 10 minutes left to bake. They were a great add on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charcoal Griller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefCharlette
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Very Good. I used 1/2 inch thick boneless chops, I also added 3 cloves of garlic minced. 3/4 cup diced onion. Which I am glad I did. The reason I could not give this 5 stars is because it was to salty. I would next time cut the chicken bouillon granules in half to a 1/2 TBS. Also for the rice and the chops, I only had to cook for 1 hour. I would check it after the first hour, otherwise you might end up with dry meat and overcooked rice. Great recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefCharlette
Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This was great!! Restaurant quality in my book. I used pork steaks instead of chops and Uncle Bens for the rice. The steaks were so tender they practically feel right off the bone! This is a great recipe and I'm so glad I tried it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Pryor, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I used french onion soup mix instead of bullion, and I would check the pork chops regularly and put some sauce on them to help prevent dry out. I think next time I'll cook the pork chops under the rice and see if that helps. Overall though, this was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I agree with the others that said the rice is very good, but the pork chops are not so great. I used bone-in chops, but they still turned out very dry and pretty tasteless. I followed the recipe, except used basmati rice. I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Prior to making this recipe I read many of its reviews. As recommended, I used Uncle Ben's Long Grain and Wild Rice with its seasonings, great choice. However, many of the reviews also commented that this dish is quite salty, so I used 2 tins of Campbell's low salt Cream of Mushroom soup. Unfortunately it was still too salty. But despite the saltiness, this meal has great flavor and its easy to prepare. So I will make it again in the near future using only use one tin of soup plus a cup of mayo or sour cream to cut the saltiness (we like the sauciness of the rice that the 2 tins make so don't want to lose that). I will also add slices of carrot to give it color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Nothing says Minnesota like an easy dinner with cream of mushroom & wild rice! Total comfort food. SUPER easy - could have used double the amount of mushrooms and soup to make it extra good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I didn't like it that much. The pork chops were bland and I didn't care for them being cooked so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This casserole was fabulous! My kids loved it too! I used white long grain rice because i didn't have wild rice in the pantry. This one's a keeper, very moist, warm, and tender pork chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States