Minnesota Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
The recipe was dead on, exactly what I grew up with as a kid. It last about the same amount of time... Seconds. I would not change perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
i just made this tonight highly disappointed!!! i love apple crisp very much and everything looked good until i took it out of the oven the topping was total mush.... but it tasted good but my favorite thing about apple crisp is the topping and that part was the worse i followed everything right even double checked... :( maybe i will try this again but im very sad on how it turned out :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Tasted okay but the crumble part was not crumbley. Turnes out more like apple slop but mixed with ice cream or whipped cream, It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Oravec

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Fantastic. Took this to a pot luck and came home with an empty pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Sadly this wasn't the crisp I was looking for. VERY sweet and stayed crisp for about five minutes then a soggy crust after that. Just not our taste I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Yay! No oats! Very tasty, very easy. I did increase the apples to about seven cups. Also added a tsp of vanilla to the topping, and a pinch of nutmeg, because I like it. For variety next time I will add dried cranberries. A great starting point if you don't want the oats. Just tweek it to make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookstorelax

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swansea, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Delicious, easy, no oats required!! **If you are storing left overs, do not cover it otherwise the topping gets soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I prefer apple crisp without oats and I also liked that this wasn't overloaded with cinnamon. However, as this recipe's first reviewer, I regret that after preparing this recipe I have to say it did not impress me. Ultimately this was very good, but only after a whole lot of monkeying around with it. As the submitter suggested, I made this in individual sized portions. First, I had to add more flour to the "crisp" to get it to crumble nicely. The proportions of butter/brown sugar/flour are off (too much brown sugar I think?) and made it kind of pasty rather than crumbly. Second, there weren't nearly enough apples for all that topping so I had to increase that too - which now meant I had to play around with the initial sugar/cinnamon mixture as well. I baked this in individual shallow ramekins, about 30 minutes at 350 degrees and while it ended up being delicious I'll move on to another recipe where the measurements of ingredients are more accurate and reliable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States