Miniature Chocolate Eclairs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This recipe is excellent except for two things. One, it's worth making a pudding better than your average box mix and definitely NOT an instant mix - instant is too soft and will break. The second is that these are not "mini". They're huge. To make mini, I dropped teaspoon scoops of dough and reduced the two baking times to 30min/5min. They came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
this turned out really good even though i just put a lil bit more chocolate on it just for me lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ktlenz
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This recipe is great! Although as other reviews noted these are not exactly miniature. I greased up my hands with shortening to shape eclairsand made 36 bite size eclairs using a melon-baller for consistency. I cooked at 400 for 15 minutes, then reduced temp to 350 for 15 more. Then i let cool on the baking pans insteadof transferring to a wire rack. I did not cut the slits in the side, I used a corkscrew to poke holes once they were out of the oven for good and a ziplock bag with one end snipped off to fill. I ended up needin 1.5 5-oz boxes of non-instant pudding. For the frosting, I just turned over and dunked into melted icing and flipped back over to let dry, then drizzled the remaining frosting. Was a huge hit!! The best news, one is only about 100 calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
These pastries didn't turn out as light and fluffy as I would have preferred. That being said, I think almost any filling would have been successful--next time I might try herbs and garlic or cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Dr. The Ivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Fine, but not quite gourmet like I am used to. My 10 yr old daughter surprised me with these for my bday. So it was a sweet treat that I didnt have to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
These really made an impression! They were easier than I thought they would be, but the dough was a bit sticky to work with. I used 3 eggs, margarine instead of butter, and I made a vanilla pudding filling (made with vanilla pudding mix, 2 cups soy milk- to keep it non-dairy, and a container of whippping cream to make it a thicker consistency- since the soymilk doesn't let the pudding thicken). In my oven, it definitely took less than 35 minutes- they got a bit overdone. Also, don't grease the cookie sheet! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Made this into heart shaped eclairs for Valentine's Day and they were delicious! I am only giving 4 stars because I did make some changes. As other suggested, I used the French Pastry Cream recipe instead of the pudding and it was perfect! Also had to add some cocoa powder to the frosting to make it taste chocolate. Mine did not require near the baking time either - not sure if it was because of the shape although I wouldn't think that would make much difference. Will make again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
What an easy and amazing recipe! These were the best eclairs I've ever had. I did use vanilla pudding as a personal preference, but other than that this recipe is perfect. The pastry was delicate and the chocolate frosting was creamy and not overly sweet. I will definitely be making these for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I loved these. If they aren't cooking all the way through, what i did that seemed to work was took a knife and instead of a one inch slit I did it most of the way through. For the filling I used a vanilla filling similar to bavarian cream, one 8 oz whipped frozen topping (thawed) 3.5 oz vanilla pudding, 2 tsp. vanilla extract. Came out super delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Well, they taste like Eclairs! I used vanilla pudding (instant) and it helped it from tasting too chocolatey...the chocolate topping was great and the pastry was okay. The dough was difficult to work with and I thought I did something wrong, but when I cooked them they turned out fine. I would probably try this recipe again. It was pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWPRINCESS7284
Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States