Mini Sweet Potato Samosas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made these for New Years Eve, and they were a big hit! I changed a couple of things... I omitted the onion soup packet and instead used extra curry, a dash of cinnamon, and a dash of onion powder. I served it with apple jelly that I heated on the stove and added some curry powder to it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
So good, so easy. This is a great appetizer. I actually am making them as an appetizer for Thanksgiving to add a little spice to the menu. I may try adding peas into the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Easy and quite good. I used hot chili curry paste approximately 3 table spoons and served with mango chutney and it added a kick of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltokarchuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Really quite good! I used a regular potato as I don't like sweet potato. Added salt, pepper, curry to taste. Also fried up onions and garlic in oil and then added it as one reviewer suggested. They crisped up quite nicely and my husband ate almost the whole plate! This one's a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Great with mango chutney!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I used baked sweet potato, sauteed onion and garlic, crumbled bacon, Parmesan cheese, a little cumin and a little curry for the filling which was great. I didn' t how the won-ton shells cooked up - the taste was great but they were a bit mushy even though I cooked them extra time trying to get them to crisp up a bit. Maybe using olive oil instead of sesame oil made the difference. I sprinkled the top with freshly grated Parmesan cheese. The two dipping sauces I used were soy sauce and the mustard/wine mix. They went over well at the party, though. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Not good:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattyward555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I added chives, apples and garlic. I also served with a spicy peach chutney........simply amazing. It is a great base recipe that you could do lots of variations with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Miller-Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
These were amazing! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding a handful of pressed garlic into the water when the sweet potatoes were simmering, which were later mashed in. I was surprised at the beautiful color they got in the oven...I thought I would end up pan frying them, but they were perfect. Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucyford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
These disappeared quickly! I made extra filling (I knew I'd be tasting it the whole time!) and added some cumin and ginger, and mixed in some defrosted frozen peas. I also used olive oil instead of sesame oil since that's what I had. I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States